3 week old runt or sick

chickadee007

Chirping
Feb 7, 2015
Waynesville, Ohio
My Coop
My Coop
I am new to having chickens. Waiting on my coop to arrive have 12-13 week old sultan and 13-14 week old brahma in one crate together doing great! I have 3 three week old chicks together. One cream legbar pullet and two straight run speckled sussex. The sussex came as a pair. One of the sussex doesn't seem to be growing as much as the other two, although I see it eat all the time. It's slightly smaller than the other two, is often by him/herself. He:she stays under the lamp alot more than the other two. It is 82 degrees under the lamp now. A couple of times I have found him/her laying on its side, thought it was ill so i picked it up and when I put it back down it takes off and goes over to eat. Most of the time its pecking around with the others. I just picked it up to look at it and put it down in thick pine shaving bedding. It couldn't walk, just layed down. I moved him back over to thinner layer an was running around just fine. Anything else I should look for? Is this little one ok?

Your chick does look and sound like it is sick. I would lower the heat-light down a little to warm things up a bit. A chicken sleeping laying down tends to be a sign of a healthy chicken, but one sleeping while standing up is usually a sign that they are sick.

Watch for blood in the droppings or loose droppings, lack of appetite, difficult or noisy breathing, dropping wings and hunched up neck. It could have some coccidia or it could just be genetically weaker than the others. Make sure it is getting plenty of nutrition by scrambling some eggs and offering it to them.

I hope it gets strong and healthy. Best of luck!

Thanks for your comment GitaBooks, I'm not sure what is going on. He's getting a little more heat and I isolated him in a clear tub/bin inside the same big container the other two are in.