Rules for The Coop that the books don't tell you. My experience as a newbie.

jackieo61028

Songster
5 Years
Jul 9, 2015
Alabama
I'm new to this chicken biz so I'm just learning as I go. I'm mentally taking notes on what I need to paint on my Chicken Coop Rules sign.
1. Never wear flip flops when you have pretty pink toenails like mine.
2. Never go inside empty handed. They expect treats. They EXPECT treats.
3. Do the shuffle walking in because they WANT OUT.
4. If a chicken or two gets out, they WANT BACK IN. IMMEDIATELY. But go ahead and chase them around the coop 26 times. It's good for your heart.
5. Don't get too close to their faces. Sometimes they think eyelashes are worms. There isn't much going on up their in that little bird brain.
6. The chickens want to be fancy. They will steal your jewelry at all costs. So what if they have to take a finger off to get it? They may even fly at your chest like a ninja to get that diamond necklace. You won't see it coming. You WILL feel the aftermath. I'm adding a basket at the door to deposit all valuables. You'll get them back when you exit.

And today I'll add...
7. Don't bend over, I mean, unless you want poop on your back.

I'm sure there are many more I'll add as the days go on. Do you have any?

I think I needed that list when I got chickens. LOL!
tongue.png

1: Oh yeah, they go for the toes, the fingers, the eyes, and yes, they go for the lips as well!
2: How do you spell EXPECT? Oh yea, D. E. M. A. N. D.
3: If you have 40 chickens in one coop and try to walk through a door, you should practice walking through a flash flood first
4: You have 300 ft of fence with one opening. The chickens manage to slip out of that 1 ft opening, and yet they try to get back through every other foot besides that one
5: Thankfully, I have glasses. Still, I think they are considering how to get around them when they stare at my eyes the way they do