Newbie here and on day 20,, nervous and unsure!

Kentuckyrain

Chirping
Jun 4, 2015
Northern Michigan
Hi everyone, I could use a little advice. I have tried to read up on different threads on here and look at pictures, etc. but I am still nervous and confused.

I have Silkie eggs in the bator, one is on day 20, one on day 18 and one on day 14. While I have several hens in the coop, my silkie rooster is ONLY fornocating with the one silkie hen and that is why my eggs are a few days apart.

So the egg that is on day 20 today, has a small crack, I believe it is called a PIP. I discovered it this morning. I removed/stopped the automatic rotator thing so now all my 3 eggs on sitting on the wire screen in the bator.

Anyhow, I discovered the pip at 6 am and I could hear chirping, which was quite loud. But nothing has happened today other than the pip looks a little larger but not broken through, just more like a slight crack. I don't know when it actually did the pip so how do I know at what time I should be worried about it if at all?

Thanks in advance

Hi everyone, I could use a little advice. I have tried to read up on different threads on here and look at pictures, etc. but I am still nervous and confused.

I have Silkie eggs in the bator, one is on day 20, one on day 18 and one on day 14. While I have several hens in the coop, my silkie rooster is ONLY fornocating with the one silkie hen and that is why my eggs are a few days apart.

So the egg that is on day 20 today, has a small crack, I believe it is called a PIP. I discovered it this morning. I removed/stopped the automatic rotator thing so now all my 3 eggs on sitting on the wire screen in the bator.