Quail Hatch Soon!

2boys1homestead

Chirping
5 Years
Sep 30, 2014
Pewamo, MI
Hey All!

Well, this is my first time incubating in a DIY incubator I build myself. I've candled a few eggs and found non-fertilized as well as completely dark eggs (I imagine that means they are grown). It's Day #16 and they should be hatching soon! I thought I would share it with you as it happens! (If it happens).

I hope everything turns out well and I can show you all my new baby quails! First livestock on our homestead!

Ben

I'm shooting for 9 hens and 3 males. We'll see what happens. I'm keeping them in groups of 4 (1 male, 3 females) for hatching eggs. I plan on growing the flock a bit for meat birds and more laying hens.

We've got one chick out! Only took him about 2 hours from Pip to hatched completely.

Since he/she has gotten out, the other eggs have seemed to react to him and started rocking. I've counted about 6 more separate rocking eggs, so let's hope they all hatch!

Good luck! Hatching day is always very eggciting! Mine are day 16 tomorrow but have seen only 6 out of 56 eggs wobble.

Has anyone else seen so few wobble but still had a good hatch rate?

We've hatch quail a few times now and find it unusual not to see more movement.

Now we're on Day #22 or #23 and we have 2 chicks out and 2 more hatching right now.

First chick was Day 20, second was Day 21 and we've had no activity for a couple days and now two more at once!

Hopefully you will get a few more. Ours started hatching yesterday, with one last late arvo and 3 overnight. Have just had one more hatch and 6 pipped. Not very hopeful of a good hatch rate but your late hatches are giving me a bit more hope.

I totally forgot to update this!!