Miscellaneous Question Re: Cornish Crosses

ejcrist

Songster
Oct 16, 2015
Desert Hills, AZ
I ordered my first batch of 30 meat birds (cornish crosses) that are due to be shipped 3/30 for a BBQ we're planning around mid-May or so. My plan is to keep them in two brooders I have, one is 7'X4' and the other is 5'X3' for a total of 43 square feet until they're ready to butcher in 6 weeks. At first I was thinking to build a small coop and run for them but if they'll be ready in 6 weeks as advertised then I think I can get by just using the brooders. I'm new to raising chickens and I'm about 4 weeks into my first laying flock so I don't have a lot of experience to draw on. So do you think I'd be ok to leave them in the brooders till the BBQ or will they be too big and have to go in a coop before they reach 6 weeks since they probably grow a lot faster than laying hens? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Gene

You're going to need a lot more space.

At 6 weeks, each of those birds will take up almost 2 square feet just standing still. You don't have that much space in your brooders. You'll need a run or tractor or some other housing. Also, in that small a space, the poop could be horrific.

You're going to need a lot more space.

At 6 weeks, each of those birds will take up almost 2 square feet just standing still. You don't have that much space in your brooders. You'll need a run or tractor or some other housing. Also, in that small a space, the poop could be horrific.

Ok I'm with you. Let me ask you this then, since they'll be under 6 weeks I'm assuming they won't be fully feathered out same like laying hens. That being the case, if I put them in a tractor, small coop, etc., will I have to provide a supplemental heat source? If so I'm just trying to figure out how I'm going to make it all work.