Used Coop - Advice on sanitizing/repairs?

CluckCluckMomma

In the Brooder
Jan 13, 2016
Hello there! I'm a newbie so any advice is greatly appreciated. I have 7 chicks coming in March for a small flock. My husband just bought a used Coop and 2 adult SLW roos. They are in the coop now, but he plans to build another small coop for them so that the chicks can use this coop when they get moved outside. What is the best way to sanitize it before making the switch? Would I need to sanitize if I'm going to paint the wood on the inside? Thanks! I'll post pics of it tomorrow if anyone has ideas for improvements. I know the run is too low. When the roos crow and extend their necks, their combs rub the top of the wire. I'm assuming that's causing the tops of their combs to look dry and whitish, and not some other issue? TIA!

Hello there! I'm a newbie so any advice is greatly appreciated. I have 7 chicks coming in March for a small flock. My husband just bought a used Coop and 2 adult SLW roos. They are in the coop now, but he plans to build another small coop for them so that the chicks can use this coop when they get moved outside. What is the best way to sanitize it before making the switch? Would I need to sanitize if I'm going to paint the wood on the inside? Thanks! I'll post pics of it tomorrow if anyone has ideas for improvements. I know the run is too low. When the roos crow and extend their necks, their combs rub the top of the wire. I'm assuming that's causing the tops of their combs to look dry and whitish, and not some other issue? TIA!

Yes, pics would help, but it sounds as if you have figured out some of the limitations already (run height). If you can raise the run to human height, it makes maintenance so much easier!