Early night chooks

kelebek1977

Chirping
6 Years
Sep 4, 2014
Is it normal for chooks to have an early night. One of mine went to bed at 5:30pm (i'm in the UK) so it's pretty light here. I only have two hens, the other followed her in to the hen house nd none have come back out. One is ex battery and the other is one i've had since chick.

It's never happened before. Just wondering if this is normal behaviour? Thanks

That's what, about 2 hrs or so before sunset in your neck of the woods? I'd say that's pretty early. Mine sometimes go in early if it's exceptionally windy or bad weather but they're pretty consistent about going in just before dark on regular days. I'm pretty new at raising chickens so other than bad weather I don't know any other reason why they might do that. Maybe she was up late last night watching Benny Hill and was tired?

That's what, about 2 hrs or so before sunset in your neck of the woods? I'd say that's pretty early. Mine sometimes go in early if it's exceptionally windy or bad weather but they're pretty consistent about going in just before dark on regular days. I'm pretty new at raising chickens so other than bad weather I don't know any other reason why they might do that. Maybe she was up late last night watching Benny Hill and was tired?
:-D
The weather suddenly went cold yesterday and snowed. Today it rained but nothing major. I was a little worried about about Dolly tonight (my ex battery). Normally she'd coming running for her tea but she didn't. She was a little slow, tired, tucking herself in to her chest then falling asleep instantly! Olive, my other mixed hen had a few nibbles but then off she went with Dolly to bed. She's absolutely fine though.
Maybe Olive sense something is wrong?