Girls don't like "treats"??

mtessdoan

In the Brooder
Jun 29, 2016
Southern California
I'm very new to chickens (got them last night as a rescue) but I wanted to give them some good vibes in their new home with some treats I've heard they liked... So far they take 2 pecks and don't show any interest in:

Carrot
Strawberry
Tomato
Kohlrabi greens
Dandelion weed

Are they just unsettled?? They have water and the feed I was given (just corn) but I will be getting a more complete feed, as well as mealworms, today.

Thanks!!

Whenever I get hens from a different home I give them yogurt, grapes, and drained canned veggies. They also may be a little stunned in a new home with all these treats.

I'm very new to chickens (got them last night as a rescue) but I wanted to give them some good vibes in their new home with some treats I've heard they liked... So far they take 2 pecks and don't show any interest in:

Carrot
Strawberry
Tomato
Kohlrabi greens
Dandelion weed

Are they just unsettled?? They have water and the feed I was given (just corn) but I will be getting a more complete feed, as well as mealworms, today.

Thanks!!

Welcome to BYC.

How old are the rescues?
Any photos?

They are most likely unsettled.
Since they are rescues they may not even know what treats are. Corn is a treat and not a complete food, so the quicker you can get a complete poultry feed the better.

You may want to start with an all flock/flock raiser type feed (18-20% protein content) and offer oyster shell free choice for any that are laying eggs. I suspect they may also benefit from some poultry vitamins for about a week since it sounds like their normal feed was just corn.