Any type of medication good for a pecked back?

buffsandbarn

Hatching
Jun 5, 2016
Austin, TX
Hi - I'm new to raising chickens and only have 5. I acquired 2 out of the 5 just yesterday and one of them has a bare back, neck, and tail from other chickens pecking on her. When I introduced her to my 3 other girls, they turned from the nice gentle hens I know and love to monsters that started pecking the new chicken! Is there anything I can use on her back/neck to promote healing? I read about Blu Kote and also about separating out the one getting pecked on, but is there anything I can use that would help her skin? I don't think she was very well taken care of in her previous home. Please let me know your suggestions. I'm in Austin, TX.
Thank you!
Sharon

Hello. As a very expierienced chicken owner, I know very well that pecking can be a problem. Get her away from the other chickens, and keep her around you for a while. After she heals, and is ready to go back in with them, I have some tips for you:

Before just placing her in with different animals, place a cage or pen of some sort in the other chicken's enviorment and put her in there. They will start to get used to each other, and soon they will hopefully be fine. But always keep a watchful eye that she is not being pecked on, or being out ruled by the others.

Another thing you could do is get some more chickens to be on the hurt chickens side, so that when you are ready to place her with the other flock, she has more chickens, and they set the new pecking order. Almost like they are then the new leaders. You always want more chickens in the new flock than the older flock, so that they overrule the other, older chickens.