Should I be worried about the baby?

RRLaney

Songster
May 1, 2016
Bastrop, TX
So this is my first time raising baby chicks...I think we're doing a pretty good job, but one of my 8 day old barred rock chicks seem to be sleepier than the rest of them. She definitely sleeps more than the others but I have seen her eating and she is definitely rambunctious when she is awake. I assume babies just need a lot more sleep and it's normal, but I want to make sure I'm not overlooking something. I've been giving them fresh food and water everyday, they have a heat lamp and a clean brooder and I've been checking their butts to make sure there's no poop stuck over their vent. Is there anything else I can be doing differently? And should i be worried about the little one?
Thanks!

(She's the one on the far left)

Last edited:
Any advice or thoughts?
Maybe she's not drinking enough water? Is there a way to make them want to drink more...I rarely see any of them drink. I made sure it's not cold and it's in a warm part of the brooder.

If this chick is behaving differently from the others, you're probably right in being concerned about it. Does it peep a lot? Like non-stop? Is it pooping? What are you feeding? Wet or dry food?

Your chicks should be drinking regularly to the point where you should see them take a sip every now and then. Did you wet each beak when you first got them? If you aren't seeing them drink, try dipping their beaks and see what happens.

If the sleepy chick continues to behave lethargically, it may have a failure to thrive condition or it may just be slow out of the gate. Either way, it would benefit from Poultry Nutri-drench, a powerful nutritional supplement that is absorbed directly into the blood stream. This could help the chick if it's slow to develop internally. Best to do something about it now rather than wait until it shows signs of seriously lagging behind the others.