Maybe someone here can help

acw13

In the Brooder
5 Years
Jan 19, 2015
I know this sounds ridiculous, but I'm desperate. I have a pet turkey, a broad breasted white, named Koba who has a severe case of bumblefoot. The area is about the size of a tennis ball. There no way I can care for it by myself, I need the help of a vet. The only person who actually specializes in "livestock" doesn't take care credit anymore. I'm a nursing student and pretty dang sick of being broke all the time, but I just need a little help for my pet. I don't want him to die. He's not just a bird, he's my PET, like any cat or dog and equally as special to me. Ive never done this kind of thing before and if it's not allowed, I'm sure the post can be flagged. Please, if you have the time or means, visit my go fund me page.

https://www.gofundme.com/medical-help-for-koba-2wazs38

I am very sorry for your troubles.

You do have a few options, though.

You could perform the surgery yourself. I've done it on a chicken, so I know you can! You can find several videos on YouTube detailing the process. You'll want a second pair of hands to help.

There are also non-invasive treatments like soaking in Epsom salts, using clear iodine, or turmeric/coconut oil paste.

Since he's a pet, you could also get him some antibiotics to treat him internally, too. They're cheaper than a vet visit if you purchase them online or from your local feed store. :)

I hope that helps and I wish Koba a speedy recovery!

MrsB

The bumble is about the size of half a tennis ball. I considered it and watched several different videos, but not one was as extensive as what I'm seeing. I'm afraid that if I start cutting or pulling, I'll hard healthy tissue and I don't want to cause him excess pain. I've read about other treatments, but I think that as far as his has progressed, it wouldn't do any good until the bad part it removed. I'm not even sure how deep it goes.