Olive Egger breeding

groove20

Hatching
Dec 8, 2016
I have an olive egger roo over 2x barred rock hens. I want to give him a couple more ladies and am soliciting input as far as what breeds to put with him that will get along with my barred rocks. I am new to breeding chickens so I really don't know what to expect. I thought by putting barred rocks with him, I might get sex link olive eggers...is this an accurate statement? Or are there other factors I have not considered? Thank you!

Hi, welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

I don't think you will get sex link OE by having them with the BR.

Really any breed can get along. You have to introduce them properly though.

I would get what breed you want to look at. EE might be nice to add some variety to your egg basket. I like being able to tell who laid what egg and to tell the girls apart right when I look at them. Plus it's great to have a variety of eye candy in the yard.
big_smile.png

Is your roo a roo or cockerel? You definitely need more ladies!

To sex link barred rocks you put them with a black rooster like an black australorp, or a buff rooster like the orpington. The males will have a white dot on head females will be all black.

To sex link olive eggers you cross them back to blue egg layers like an americauna or EE. The females will have a white spot on head, males will not.

You can search the threads on here or on the web for olive eggers auto sexing and barred rock auto sexing theres alot of people who have tried diffrent things and were successful.

Last edited:
Hi

I believe you can use any non barred, non white rooster with a barred hen and get sex links, so as long as your rooster is not barred or white you should get sex links.

Quote: