kits died

dawnandjimmy

In the Brooder
Feb 18, 2017
Buchanan.ga
My rabbit which is a rex and we mated her with a New Zealand she had her babies last night which it got down to freezing and we did not know it was going to get that cold since it is been warm for quite some time and the thing is she had ample hay and her fur that she pulled out is in there is this the reason why they could have died because of died? Or some other reason? if we would have known it was going to get down to freezing we have sources of heat we use but whether did not say it was going to get down to freezing and of course it did any advice this is my first time breeding and next time it will be warmer weather I will not have to worry about temperature but still I'm sad

My rabbit which is a rex and we mated her with a New Zealand she had her babies last night which it got down to freezing and we did not know it was going to get that cold since it is been warm for quite some time and the thing is she had ample hay and her fur that she pulled out is in there is this the reason why they could have died because of died? Or some other reason? if we would have known it was going to get down to freezing we have sources of heat we use but whether did not say it was going to get down to freezing and of course it did any advice this is my first time breeding and next time it will be warmer weather I will not have to worry about temperature but still I'm sad

She may have not nursed them. I've had rabbits that honestly forget to nurse. I doubt it was the cold temperatures unless the rabbits hut is not covered on at least 2 sides.
We had some batches these last few weeks and it dropped down to the single digits(F) this week and I dont think a single one died.