Mystery chick amoung cornish x

equinewiz

In the Brooder
Mar 24, 2017
This is my first time raising chicks. 13 days ago I picked up 15 day-old Cornish cross chicks from my local agway. I am beginning to suspect one of them is not cornish cross because it is significantly smaller. It also seems to be calmer and eat less. At first I thought it was a female. Yesterday at a chick seminar someone suggested maybe it's just a runt. But here on day 13 I suspect it's more than that. That same day the store got the cornish x, they also got a batch of sexed white rocks. I'm thinking it may be a white rock. It's has blood spots so they are pecking at it which I know is really bad and I need to figure out what to do ASAP.
Looking for opinions on the breed and if it is another breed, any guesses on the sex?
If it's a female it means its a sign I should also raise layers which I had been torn on :) So I would just get a couple more female. If it's a male then I don't know what I'll do. I can't have roosters where I live. And this smaller chick is already getting pecked at.I guess it will be my first cull :/

Could be a runty Cornish Cross, but I'm also leaning toward White Rock. Too young to tell gender; we should have a better idea when it is 6-8 weeks old.

Last edited:
I don't really want to feed it for another 4 weeks only to find out it's a male and I can't keep it but it will still be too small to get decent meat from. Only think I can think of is trying to find it a home or experience the first death of my own chicken at my own hands. I wasn't expecting to it when it is still so young and cute. And I hate that I won't be able to use the meat :(