Soapbox time or Looking for like minded individuals interested in contributing to herb treatment dat

cmeeksrfl

In the Brooder
Apr 20, 2017
I am new to BackYard Chickens but have been a happy chicken owner for several years now. I am also a practicing veterinarian and an ardent herbalist. After reading through some of the posts on this forum, I have to admit to doing a bit of cringing at a lot of the drug advise. Don't get me wrong, I am certain that there are a number of people on this site that are much, much more knowledgeable on poultry than I. I had to go out of my way to get any information on birds in general when I went through vet school, the average student that wasn't interested could go the whole way with practically no exposure at all. Avians are about as different from dogs and cats as you can get. Metabolically, physically they don't quite work the same or use drugs the same. Size is a huge factor here. Most drugs are usually set up to dose in Kilograms. That works out to a little over 2 pounds. It is much more difficult to dose a tiny, newly hatched chick that will only weigh a few grams than a 15 pound rooster with a drug intended for a much larger animal. I do know how to use drugs in general & where to find and understand dosing those drugs. I wouldn't mind writing up a short formulary but but don't want to put it here and haven't figured out how to write an article on this site yet. I'll think about it tomorrow.