Need to sex Call Ducks

keyt1969

Songster
9 Years
Aug 17, 2010
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Hello!

I'm fairly new to owning ducks. I have a trio of 21 day old Call Ducks that I need to figure out how to sex. I may have an idea but I want to ask the more experienced ones on here. I have read on the internet that it can also be done by their chirps!? I need the best ways to do this please!

Thanks!

Keyt

Picture009.jpg

Possible female

Picture008.jpg

Possible male

Picture013.jpg

Possible female. This one is MUCH bigger than the other two!

love your ducklings
smile.png
Im at the same stage as you, i have 2 call ducklings and they are exactly the same size so no give-aways there. I think in about a week they will begin to either quack or not quack IYKWIM lol so its just a waiting game not long to go now!

MIne are 3 months old and I just figured out their sexes by the curls in thier back tail feathers-very distinct! I hav 2 boys and 1 girl
hmm.png

The first yellow one is precious, the black one is adoring and the third one is an angel. Male or female ? I don't know. I actually have judged a pair of white calls that were given to me by the thickness of their legs. This is DEFINATELY not guarenteed. I sold one and wanted to keep a female. These 2 were identical in size at the time and about the same age as the ones in your pics. I picked the one with the thinner legs hoping for a girl (but I really wasn't sure). As it turns out, I was lucky to have picked the female but I only know now because of her loud quack.

The females have hormone spots on their bills, but I don't exactly when they appear. And the males do have the curled tail feathers, but you won't be able to tell that until they have feathers.

I had to wait until they were about my little hen started quacking before I could sex mine.
Your babies are precious.
smile.png