6 month old bantam cochins, haven't got an egg yet Another UPDATE!!!!

Mucky

In the Brooder
9 Years
Mar 30, 2010
small town iowa
I got 4 bantam hens that are about 6 months old that haven't laid any eggs yet. Is that normal? They seem prefectly happy and healthy to me but I am new to chickens. I am still feeding them chick starter/grower.

UPDATE: The hens are about 8 1/2 months old now. Still no eggs. Apparently they are waiting for spring. I need some more reassurance that this is normal or some advice on helping them along. Its rather frustrating wading through the snow everyday to find no eggs again.

ANOTHER UPDATE!!! The hens are about 10 months old now and I got my first egg!

I checked on them Saturday afternoon. Saturday night we had a big party at our house. Sunday I was on the couch all day with a hangover and totally forgot to check on them. Checked on them today and had 2 little eggs in the nest box! I couldn't believe it when I saw it, it seems like I've been waiting forever. Unforunately one of the eggs was cracked. It was pretty cold and I think it might have froze and burst. I'm not sure about that though. Can an egg burst if it freezes? I feel bad about not checking on them Sunday but I am so excited they are starting to lay. The eggs are the same size but the color is slightly different. I am wondering if its just one of them that is laying or if maybe two of them have started.

I have a new problem now. I have had them on chick starter/grower up to now and I want to switch them over to a layer mix. I had planned on mixing the grower and the layer together for a couple weeks to get them used to the new feed. Unforunately I only have about a scoop of the grower left. How big of a problem is it going to be to abruptly switch feeds? I also vaguely remember that you should not eat the first few eggs they lay when they first start laying, but I don't remember why. Sorry if I'm rambling, I'm excited.

Last edited: