African Geese: Opinions wanted!

SunnyCalifornia

Songster
9 Years
Oct 8, 2010
Escondido CA
DH would like to get a goose to be our backyard sentry. We have a small flock of LF chickens, that I'd like to let free range more often, but I worry about the local hawks. Our thinking is that a big goose or two, along with our dogs, might deter them?

He liked the Super African Goose from the Metzer Hatchery catalog. He likes that they are big and noisy, but I have no goose experience at all.

Before we buy, I'd love to hear your opinions on
1. Our idea to keep a goose-guard
2. The choice of breed?
3. Any issues/difficulties in raising Geese?

Thanks!

Geese and turkeys both are great and keeping away hawks. Africans and Chinese are both very loud and protective. They would be good options. Super Africans are good birds, and I have known some to be very friendly as well. I would think that Africans, like Toulouse, because of their size might have weight problems. You would have to be careful that they dont over eat and hurt their joints with too much weight. Geese get protective during breeding season and will probably stay close to home by their nest during that time, and the flock of birds would be left without protection. (This is where turkeys would be a good option. As well as a tasty one.
tongue.png
).

Hope this helps,
Sierra

I've had African, Embden, and Pomeranian

I personally like the poms best, even when the girls are brooding, they don't attack. the African gander only got feisty in the spring, now the embden I would never get again both girls and boys nasty, I also use geese as hawk and owl deterrents

Last edited:
African geese are VERY noisy, I had to sell mine because you couldn't hear anything but them if you were outside! It didn't help that they were 'people raised' and constantly by my side.