Home made quail feed? Does anyone make/mill thier own?

Mama Austranought

Chirping
8 Years
Apr 17, 2011
Western Australia
We can't get game bird starter/mix here (Australia). I thought I read once someone mixing/milling/ making their own? Please let me know of any successful and healthy mixes you have tried - anyone! THANKS!! My quails - courntix - are 1 day old at the mo! So I'm just new to quails!

Turkey starter is a good substitution for game bird feed. After that, the highest protein chicken starter you can find would be next on my list, but they are both just substitutions for the real thing.

Trying to cook up a batch of GBS in your basement is generally folly.
Good luck with your birds!

http://www.lauckemills.com.au/poultryfood2.html

Scroll to the bottom of the page.

I haven't got quails yet but I too, am trying to figure out the correct feed for quails here in Australia.

However the link above does about 23% protein... they do have turkey starter but its got meds and stuff in it but thats around 28%

I will ask the Stockfeed place if they have higher protein feed the next time I go to buy some feed for my ickens..

For now I shall entertain myself by looking at my meal worms, reading books on sprouting seeds, and reading cage design books, going to the hardware store and looking for stuff to modify into a cage, and image training on quail maintenance when I wake up in the mornings.

Yeah, well cooking up my own looks like the ONLY option, so I've got to do the best I can. I fed my older quails finch (seed mix) feed. Turkey starter is medicated - so not for quails. A very experienced QUAIL BYCer had a mox up on here that she does for hers... If only I can find her...

My bad! We don't generally medicate Turkey starter here in the colonies.

JJ has a good GBS recipe! The 1/2 ton of corn turns me off, but you may be able to tone it down to suit your needs. What's that recipe JJ?