What time are hawks active?

Pics

Chocobo

Chirping
8 Years
May 27, 2011
I live in a suburb with a small yard that I would like to let my chickens free range in. I know that there are some Red Shouldered Hawks in the area, and possibly screech owls, and haven't let them out unless I was outside with them.
Is there a time of day that hawks don't hunt?
Since I live in an area with lots of houses and small yards that are fenced in would the hawks even bother to hunt here?
If so is there anything I can do to deter them?

Last edited:
I am fairly new to chicken keeping. My experience, in my area(Dallas, TX) is the hawks are more active in the winter. My chickens free ranged all day every day from October 2010 till this February when my frizzle was attached by a hawk. (She survived!Yay!) It was right after a bad week long snow storm and the vet told me the hawks were hungry. We continued to see hawks in our area until april or may and began free ranging again in June. I plan to stop free ranging all day and unsupervised as soon as the weather cools down again.
Would love to hear what others experience has beenl!

My only hawk attacks have taken place during the harshest times in the winter, two attacks in late January of this year. Once summer comes around the hawks seem to not bother trying to take on my ducks and geese. I lose a silkie to something this may but from the feathers and evidence left behind I think its safe to say a fox took her.

In my experience hawks are most active early AM to mid morning then again in the late afternoon during the summer. During cooler weather they will hunt all day although most attacks have been in the early AM. They are opportunistic and flexible in their hunting and have the ability to adapt. During the fall migration and winter months my birds are on almost a 100% lockdown.

I have never lost a chicken to hawks.