Any Hawaii Folks on BYC?

speyerk

In the Brooder
7 Years
Feb 19, 2012
Kapolei Hawaii
Trying to get a handle on how many Hawaii folks on BYC. I live in Leeward O'ahu and would like to know other people here that do the BYC thing. Would be nice to have a Hawaii community to bounce ideas and resources around with.

Aloha,

Kevin

Hi, I'm on Oahu, Moanalua area. I am a newbie though... Don't have my chicks yet. Should be coming next week. I can't wait. :D

Awesome, you'll love it. How many and what kind did you get? I have 3 rhode island reds and they all started laying eggs 2 weeks ago. do you have your brooding pen set up? What are you going to do for a coop? I went off the deep end with my coop, it weighs a ton. If you look at all the coop designs it is pretty easy to come up with a great functioning coop.

Good luck and let me know how it goes for you...

I ordered 2 Buff Orpington, 2 Silkies and a Ameraucana. I'm ordering the Silkies and a Buff Orpington from Asagi hatchery (to be p/u around 6/19) and the rest from Waimanalo (early July).

I bought extra because Asagi sells Silkies as straight runs only and the extra Buff Orp will help keep the Silkies warm. I plan on just keeping one each of each breeds and giving the extra to my parents.

Just set up my brooding pen today in the bathroom. It is a good size cardboard box with a 40 watt desk lamp as the heat source. Ran the lamp for a couple of hour to check the temperature and everything is good.

I'm building my coop right now (actually my DH is, I'm the painter). It is actually bigger than I thought it would look. :) my coop has a floor size of 3x4 with an attached run. I have space limitations so it is not as big as I wanted it to be. I'll post pictures when I'm done. I looked through a lot of coop pictures on BYC to get ideas from, I liked the Wichita cabin coop a lot. By husband got irritated when I kept changing my coop design because I kept finding ideas that I liked. Lol...