Problems Hatching Call Ducks

Pics

poultry4-Hrules

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 7, 2012
I have been raising and hatching calls for a few years now, but this year I have been faced with a new problem. A large percentage of my ducklings have been piping the eggs and then they die or the unzip around the egg and then die. Does anyone have any ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

I have been raising and hatching calls for a few years now, but this year I have been faced with a new problem. A large percentage of my ducklings have been piping the eggs and then they die or the unzip around the egg and then die. Does anyone have any ideas of what I could be doing wrong?

This is a problem that I have recently came upon, I had one half way zipped then boom died. Was this a very small call duck egg??

According to what I was told, Call ducks are the hardest to hatch because of their short bills. It seems assisted hatches are not uncommon because the bill just does not seem long enough to reach around from under the wing to allow proper hatching. I suspect mama ducks will assist if a duckling is not hatching on its own and is otherwise strong and healthy. When people breed for specific standards, the outcome is not always the best survival mechanisms. Usually assisting hatches is not effective in the long run because weak birds may not thrive beyond the hatch but with Callls it might be necessary as long as it is minimally invasive. When I assist I will pull the head out from under the wing and then let the bird hatch the rest of the way.

I had a batch of call ducklings due a few days ago and I candeled a day before hatch day, movement in all of the eggs but on hatch day a misterius small bruise appeared on all six eggs. None piped, I waited till day 28 and then opened up the eggs. Fully formed duckies, I have no idea what went wrong or what the dark spot on the eggs was.