Quail won't lay. :(

Pivotman94

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 25, 2014
Hello BYC.

I'm new but have been reading here for a while now.
I just got into raising poultry so I'm still new to this.

So about 3 or 4 months ago I got 7 baby quail from a breeder near by.
They were only a few days old. When they became adults the were moved from their indoor brooder to a large enclosure outside.

It's been weeks since they have been moved, and nothing! I thought I may have been very unlucky and only gotten males so I got some gloves and flipped them over and had a look. I had two males and five females so I thought I would just wait for nature to take its course.

Since then I have had two deaths! :(
One, the biggest male one day seemed a little down, not moving just sitting there with his feathers fluffed up.
I checked on him 10 minutes later and we was dead. Same sort of thing happened to the other.

I don't know where I'm going wrong, any guidance would be great. I don't want to keep them little guys if I can't take good care of them.

Ok here is what there eating. There on starter (which is 20% protein) and a poultry tonic.
I live in Ireland and it's summer so it's nice and warm. They also have a nice nesting box.

Could they maybe not have enough light? There enclosure is beside some tree and a little in the shade.

What could it be?

Thanks in advance.

I don't know whats wrong with your quail so unfortunately I cant give any insight on that but what I can tell you is that starter feed should not be fed to adult birds. You should switch to game bird pellets (or crumbles) because it is made specifically for adult birds and will help your birds start laying. What symptoms did your quail show before he died? I would put them on a broad spectrum antibiotic.
Good luck.