Hen's Eggs Are Different Colors?

ajamichelle

In the Brooder
5 Years
Aug 13, 2014
New Mexico
Hello,

I'm new to chickens and the forum!

I have recently acquired two adult hens from an acquaintance. They were henpecked by their previous flock, but are settling in perfectly with mine. One is missing most of her feathers, but they're coming back in nicely. I think she's an Easter Egger.

I was under the impression that eggs laid by a hen are consistent in color.

The acquaintance told me she was getting blue eggs periodically. Her flock consisted of the suspected EE, an Australorp/jersey giant (the other hen I received from her, I'm not sure which she is), two barred rocks, and a leghorn.

I'm guessing the blue eggs were coming from the suspected EE. All of the eggs she's laid with me have been pink-blushed brown.

I've had them only a short period and they were pretty stressed out.

Only these two adult hens are laying, and I know the other to be either an Australorp or a Jersey Giant.

Any thoughts?

Thank you in advance.

This is the hen

Hi! I am not sure if this helps or not, but the Australorp I has laid medium brown eggs. Could it be possible that one of the hens your friend kept laid the blue eggs? I have seen our hen's eggs get slightly lighter or darker, but no complete color changes. I'd ask your friend if she is still getting blue eggs.
Good luck, I hope the hens get their feathers back soon. It will be able to tell what kind of hens they are at that point!

Hi! I am not sure if this helps or not, but the Australorp I has laid medium brown eggs. Could it be possible that one of the hens your friend kept laid the blue eggs? I have seen our hen's eggs get slightly lighter or darker, but no complete color changes. I'd ask your friend if she is still getting blue eggs.
Good luck, I hope the hens get their feathers back soon. It will be able to tell what kind of hens they are at that point!

Hi! Thanks for your reply :)