Feed Nerds! Opinions wanted re: whole grain feed recipe

bootsNbirds

Chirping
5 Years
Aug 13, 2014
Madera, CA
My Coop
My Coop
I'm brand new to the whole grains feed thing, but after a lot of research, I really want to give it a try. Hoping someone can offer advice on what worked for them, and how well their chickens laid while eating the whole grain diet. Don't want to skimp on nutrition for my girls!! My laying flock is 250 birds strong; I sell eggs at local farmer's market.

My considerations are:

No wheat or barley (I'm allergic to them & having cracked, bumpy, sore hands from handling feed is a real drag)
Preferably non-GMO (my customers are a very health-conscious bunch!)
Soy free
Corn free
Cost-effectiveness (need to keep the eggs at a reasonable price for the quality)

This is what I've come up with. (100 lb recipe)

alfalfa meal/pellet 7 lbs
flax seeds 5 lbs
brewer's yeast 3 lbs
milo 25 lb
oats 25 lb
yellow split peas 10 lb
BOSS 25 lb

Crude protein works out to 18.98%
Price is .30/lb, so $15.25 per 50 lb. About 2 bucks more than I pay for premixed feed at the feed store.

Would be free-choicing oyster shell, kelp, and during the summer they get whatever veggies are leftover from my brother's organic vegetable operation.

Opinions??? Should I just free-choice the yeast & leave it out of the mix? Is that too much BOSS?

To me that is a lot of BOSS, and of that about 25% is indigestible fiber. You will not have the trace elements that a complete ration would include. Oats are to me, a cool food for summer feeding, They most likely have hulls so again a fair amount of bulk in your mix. The peas are good, I have trouble feeding the alfalfa, the milo is, to me, a filler grain, very low in protein as is the oats.