New From Indiana

Finnie

Crowing
9 Years
Oct 27, 2014
Just north of Indianapolis
Good Morning!

I decided to take the plunge and get some chickens. Your website has been invaluable to me as I researched what I would need to know and purchase before bringing any actual chickens into my life. So now that my little flock came home over the weekend, I thought it would be good to actually join the forum.

I'm not a complete stranger to your forum. I have been breeding budgies (parakeets) for over five years now, and you would be surprised at how many times I am doing a search for something egg or feeding related, and the answer turns up in a chicken thread. I've resisted the lure of chicken keeping for years and I really don't know why I am succumbing to it now. I do a lot of flower gardening on my four acres, and I think maybe it has something to do with liking to pretend I'm a farmer.

Except I don't have a barn, and I really wish I did. We do own a horse though, but we board it. It's really my daughter's horse, and it boards during the school year up near Purdue University, where she is a sophomore.

My username, Finnie, is named after my first ever hen. Budgie hen, of course! I use it on most every forum I join, and I think maybe that tells me I spend way too much time on the internet. But I hope to squeeze more out of my internet time and get to know you folks around here. I suppose that half the fun in doing something you are interested in is sharing it with other people who also like it.

Well, enough droning on. Here are my five chickens. I got them from three different places, and it was a glorious fall weekend for all those trips into the country!

You have to get a coop first, and mine came with three chickens in it:

Then I got Henny Jenny:

And lastly I got this little tiny baby rooster. I really hope I don't live to regret this! But he is way too cute to resist: