Goose behavior/aggression?

Devastating

In the Brooder
Feb 10, 2015
South TX
I have many years of experience and education with poultry (mostly chickens/turkeys; a few ducks and guinea/peafowl in the past) but I have never raised geese. My sister and I would love to get a gosling or 2 along with our next chicks and ducklings this spring, but mom disapproves based on the stereotype that "it will get mean," claiming that this happened to a relative who raised a very sweet baby only for him to grow up to be aggressive.

For those experienced with geese, what are your opinions on typical goose behavior (is it really as bad as so many claim)?
-what can be done to avoid or control aggressive behaviors?
-Since it seems that a lot of this aggression occurs around breeding times would it be better to NOT get a male/female pair, or should I avoid males altogether?
-Any recommendations on which breeds would be the most docile or good for beginners? I know that white/brown Chinese are supposed to be very noisy (my uncle has several at his place, let's just say they aren't sociable lol).

Last edited:
I have many years of experience and education with poultry (mostly chickens/turkeys; a few ducks and guinea/peafowl in the past) but I have never raised geese. My sister and I would love to get a gosling or 2 along with our next chicks and ducklings this spring, but mom disapproves based on the stereotype that "it will get mean," claiming that this happened to a relative who raised a very sweet baby only for him to grow up to be aggressive.

For those experienced with geese, what are your opinions on typical goose behavior (is it really as bad as so many claim)?
-what can be done to avoid or control aggressive behaviors?
-Since it seems that a lot of this aggression occurs around breeding times would it be better to NOT get a male/female pair, or should I avoid males altogether?