Pine tar and brittle feathers

HillsideEstate

In the Brooder
Feb 22, 2015
I am new to BYC and chickens in general and decided I really need help.

The short story - we applied pine tar to our hens to keep them from bloodying each other and now their feathers are ragged, pecked broken and generally nasty looking.

The long story: After 9 months of raising hens, I came home to find nearly all my flock with bloody saddles. I panicked and applied pine tar before more damage was done. I feared cannibalism since we had to remove our roo the month prior. They were pulling out his feathers and eating them. (This is another issue I am dealing with. He was removed and I tried to slowly reintroduce with no luck). So we thought the pine tar would stop the behavior before the pecking became more severe.

First, we were told they were cramped, but they have more than twice the suggested minimum space. The run is filled with toys, perches, flock blocks...

We were then told it was from a weak winter diet and so we added Avia Charge to the water, Poultry conditioner to the food, more calcium and started begging for greens from the local market.

Then we were told mites because we had switched to straw so we cleaned out the coop and dusted it along with the girls. While dusting the girls we didn't find mites but did find nits! So we have been diligently dusting every 5 days. The severity of the pecking has stopped, but it now appears that the pine tar has made the feathers brittle. I haven't seen them doing it but the feathers look chewed off - like the top half of the feather is missing.

Then I assumed (key word) that the brittleness was bothering them so I applied coconut oil to the bare skin and brittle feathers. I was thinking it would condition the feathers and help the girls groom out the old pine tar. But the chewing (wrong word but that it what it looks like) has continued.