Advertising techniques

WIchickens

Chirping
7 Years
Aug 12, 2012
So I am going to start raising meat chickens and turkeys this spring. Friends that know about it say they are interested. But who knows who of my friends will actually buy, right? So, those of you who have a small business raising birds, how do you advertise? Just word of mouth? Craig's list? Facebook? Any other ideas?

Also, do you ever have people preorder, or do you just raise a certain amount, put them in the freezer and hope they sell?

And how do you sell them? By the pound or per bird?

Sorry for all these questions, but I am a newbie and want to do it right!:D

Try all those ideas but craig's list will bring out the bargain hunters. This enterprise will cost a lot so I suggest having your own website, price them so you can make money and people will find you. Always do the preorder and prepay or at least get a non-refundable deposit and you won't be plagued by second guessers.

That is a great idea about a website! Hadn't crossed my mind yet. Now if I can just get started with some customers I will be set. That and figuring out how to keep the costs down. I am sure this will be a work in progress!

The Craigslister's will try to low ball you every time. But is a good place to get started.

Around here the Farmers Markets are big and are a good place to get top dollar. Need to be processed, and here in Texas requires all sorts of permits and inspections, so check you local laws.

We also have flea markets that you can sell livestock at. Here you can sell them live.

Check with you local school ag teacher. They usually know people that will buy them. They know because they will help the FFA people sell their culls when showing.

I sell by the bird. I have sold them on contract before the birds hit my ground and extras to people on all the above.

Hope that helps.

The people I've heard of that do it usually presell and apparently they have a big following.