Can I add eggs after I've started incubation?

SqueakyRoseShalom

Songster
10 Years
Mar 17, 2011
Hi!
I'm new at this and just started my first set of eggs. Can I add eggs after I've started? If yes what is the best time to add eggs? (Before 2 days have passed since start, 5 days, 7 days, etc or it doesn't matter?)

If I can add eggs, how does it work for lockdown? Thanks in advance!!!

The general recommendation is NOT to add new ones. But, IF you are an adventurous soul, and a risk taker, you could add some up to 48 hours after the first ones start incubating. They will MOST LIKELY hatch 2 days later than the rest, but, I've heard stories about later additions catching up and hatching at the same time. This would be a good way to separate fact from fiction!

X2, it can work, but since none of the eggs will have ideal conditions, you are probably going to lower your overall hatch rate. If you only have one incubator and you add eggs later, you will be doing what people call a "Staggered" or "Split" Incubation if you want to do a search on old threads talking about it. ie https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/952961/staggered-hatching-in-same-incubator the main problem with doing that is you have a hard time regulating humidity since different age eggs generally need different levels (your younger eggs need lower levels so they continue to lose weight/water to an acceptable level, while your hatching eggs need higher levels so they are able to hatch properly). If you have to do one, it is easiest to either do them really close together (add eggs within a day or two) and just treat it as one hatch averaging the days (you will lock down some eggs a day early and some a day late)... or have the eggs a week or more apart and adjust the humidity in between to be lower so the eggs lose more water/weight on the days you don't have to have it high for hatching ... Either way you need to keep a really close eye on the weigh/air cells for the best hatch results.