First time hatching....Have questions!

cutipatooti

Songster
9 Years
Apr 24, 2012
Barryville NY
This is my first time ever hatching eggs. I have some questions. First I have the brinsea 20 advanced. I set it up and it has been running for 3 days now and maintaining a temp of 99.5 but sometimes 99.4 or 99.6. Is that ok or should I try to lower it?

I'm really concerned about humidity. Right now it's reading 48% and that's with both channels filled. It was in the 30's before I filled the other channel. The 48% is with the vent almost all the way closed. Then I read you should start with humidity at 20 to 30% and weigh and track air cells. I got the brinsea so I wouldn't have to do much with the eggs. Is the tracking of the weight of the eggs necessary or is it overkill with the incubator I have?

Does the humidity go up just by adding the eggs? If so should I remove the water from one channels before I add the eggs. How do I increase humidity for hatching? I know it will increase on its own when they start to hatch, but should I do something before they start hatching?

My eggs arrived today and I have set them fat end up in egg cartons. I know I let them warm up for 12 to 24 hours. During this time do I tilt them or not? They shipped from Washington to NY so I don't really expect to much.

Thanks for the help!

I'm not sure about shipped eggs, but when you put the eggs in the incubator, the humidity will have a spike. I would keep the humidity at 30-35% for the first 18 days,and then raise it to 60% by filling up the water channels. Watch out for the humidity spikes when they hatch though.