Allow Female Gosling to "mother" chicks?

BriMPell

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 24, 2014
Pennsylvania
Okay, I am new to geese, and I picked up a pair of American Buff Geese goslings. I had them in the same brooder with some chicks in my sunroom, but tonight, I picked up some Pekin and Swedish ducks and put the geese with them instead. Well, now the male goose is attacking the poor geese (they are now all running away and cowering), and the female goose is "crying" and looking for her "babies" (the chicks).
I am planning on getting a pair of Tufted Roman Geese tomorrow, will that level things out, or make it worse? Should I allow the geese to be back with the chicks (I don't want to get the chicks brooder all wet and nasty)?
I'm also getting some turkeys haha Help! What do I do?

Okay, I am new to geese, and I picked up a pair of American Buff Geese goslings. I had them in the same brooder with some chicks in my sunroom, but tonight, I picked up some Pekin and Swedish ducks and put the geese with them instead. Well, now the male goose is attacking the poor geese (they are now all running away and cowering), and the female goose is "crying" and looking for her "babies" (the chicks).
I am planning on getting a pair of Tufted Roman Geese tomorrow, will that level things out, or make it worse? Should I allow the geese to be back with the chicks (I don't want to get the chicks brooder all wet and nasty)?

You may need to think about the decisions you are making.

You will need to keep all of the groups separate until they get closer to adulthood and can defend themselves. I would also keep the roman geese away from the others until they are the same size. Geese are bullys and your ducks will grow a lot faster than your chicks.

Well, now the male goose is attacking the poor geese (they are now all running away and cowering), and the female goose is "crying" and looking for her "babies" (the chicks).