Adding new chicks to the flock

jennykpna

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 23, 2014
Massachusetts
We have 2 new chicks, now a month old, and wondering when they can sleep in the henhouse with the big girls? Any advice is most appreciated!

I'm wondering the same thing. I have one 5 week old chick I'm wanting to move out to the big coop. I've heard that you are supposed to wait until they're at least 8 weeks old so that they're big enough to defend themselves, but I'm by no means an expert. I have a little momma hen with her 3 day old chick that's in the coop right now and they've been fine.

This is one of the most asked questions on this forum. The standard old fashioned advice is "wait until they're the same size". But that only solves one of the problems you face adding new members to the flock. It's true they would not have any size disadvantages, but that's all it would accomplish.

The ideal situation would be that the chicks are raised within the flock from day one, and you can do this, even without a broody hen hatching and raising the chicks. Recognizing the advantages of chicks being accepted into the flock early on, I now brood my chicks outdoors in the run with the MPH (Mama Heating Pad) system. They're right there with the flock, albeit in their own secure pen, growing up within sight of the rest of the flock. Later, integration is a breeze. Read about this system on this forum. "Mama Heating Pad in the Brooder.

So this is the first thing you need to do. Set up a secure pen for your baby chicks, no matter what age they are at present. Begin letting them spend their days outside in the run with the flock so the flock can become acquainted with them.