Turkeys and chickens together

Ozarko

Chirping
5 Years
Mar 26, 2014
I have lost nearly 90 chickens over the last three months, so about 1/day. In reading about protecting chickens from hawks and owls I saw several people mentioning that having a turkey would help keep them away. I have no experience with turkeys whatsoever, so I have some questions for those of you who know more.

1 - Have you found this idea to work? Would a tom really keep hawks and owls away from the chickens?

2 - Is an adult turkey just as vulnerable to attack as any chicken?

3 - My chickens are able to run around outside within an area enclosed by 42" high electrified poultry netting. Would a turkey simply fly over it and disappear forever, or at least stay away from the chickens thus negating any protective potential?

4 - I assume turkeys have different nutritional needs, is there a way to keep differing feeds separate for the turkeys and chickens? Or would a turkey do well on chicken feed? They are layers, so perhaps not.

5 - Is there anything else I should be thinking of that has not entered my mind yet?

I would appreciate your thought on this.

Thanks!

I keep my turkeys and chickens to free range together. Except when hen turkeys are laying.

I have lost young turkeys to owls. Only one adult possibly small body hen.

I have seen an owl take a hen chicken while they were out together.

I had an owl get in a pen one night and couldn't get out and both hens and toms were putting on displays to keep it at bay.

42 inches turkeys would go right over that. Mine are behind 6 foot chain link and can clear that easily if they want to. Generslly if they do get out they don't stray far. A feed bucket will get them back in easily.

Once they are adult feed them the same as chickens. If the can range some they can usually find all they need.

If you have one turkey with your flock of chickens, and the turkey ends up being a tom, would he hurt the hens?