Posts by bobchristenson

Two years later and lots more experience and I just re-read this post after I just introduced my next set of chicks (the babies in the original post are the big girls now).  Some of the best advice in this thread is about "when they stop peeping and start 'clucking', they're ready to mix".  I found that to be 100% true.  I think when the big girls hear 'cheeping' its like asking to being beat up.   I also think it depends on the breed of the older hens.  I just...
Hey All,   I'm in my 3rd year of suburban homesteading (and chicken raising) and I finally have a sick chicken (I think). Over the winter one of them (only a year old right now) started having a bit of 'baldness' around the comb. For a while I just thought it was white feathers...but it's not. I noticed one of them limping over the winter too, but only saw it once and it seemed to get better so I ignored it. Over the last 2 weeks we've had on/off blood on an egg too. I...
My issue really is one of having good enough housing to keep them separated long term.  That's why I keep trying to introduce them into the same run (I really only have a single area that can't easily be divided again).  We got a snow storm today so it means they're not going outside either...   Will they eventually work it out?  (if they dont get killed first)  I can't imagine it woudl continue like this for too many days...it seems like eventually the older bird...
Well, since the start of this thread, we're now at week 8.  I just put them together again (all day today) and it's not going much better, but the chicks are bigger so I feel like they're a little less in danger.  I opened up the coop so they're much less likely to run into chicken wire etc, when trying to get away, so that was a good lesson learned.   I've decided I'm going to just leave them in the coop tonight and hope for the best.  Fingers crossed I don't come...