Originally Posted by The Malmo's
Originally Posted by msmithg
I know you posted this 2 years ago, maybe you will see this response? I am looking into chickens in Bentonville right now and I noticed you recieved 6 hens. The city tells me we can only have a max of 4? Where did you find your information because I would much rather go by what is the written law and not just something the person behind the desk tells me.
Only 4 Chickens, NO Roosters, and NO ducks is correct. We tried to order just 4 chickens from various sites that guaranteed females, but 6 was the minimum we could get. You can buy 3 at TSC (we think) but there is no guarantee on sex or breed - we wanted specific chickens.
We ended up having to call the code enforcement office because we could find nothing "in writing" anywhere.
We built them an large indoor coop with a large outdoor run. We expected to loose chicks and end up with the allowed 4 hens...but they lived and we couldn't just kill them so our neighbor shared responsibility for 2 of them. However, through whatever process - nature, other neighbors, whatever - we only have the one hen left. :0(
This is Arkansas Law regarding the sale of chicks and rabbits under the age of 2 months (8 weeks)
§ 5-62-121. Unlawful sale or dyeing of baby chicks, rabbits, ducklings
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell or offer for sale, barter, or give away living baby chicks, rabbits, or ducklings under two (2) months of age in any quantity less than six (6).
(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, offer for sale, barter, give away, or display living baby chicks, rabbits, or ducklings which have been dyed, colored, or otherwise treated so as to impart to them an artificial color.
(c) This section shall not be construed to prohibit the sale or display of natural baby chicks, rabbits, or ducklings in proper brooder facilities by hatcheries or stores engaged in the business of selling them for commercial purposes.
(d) Any person, firm, or corporation violating any of the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be deemed guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.
(e) Nothing in this section shall prohibit growers of living baby chicks, rabbits, ducklings, or other fowl from selling or making gifts thereof in quantities they deem appropriate.
Acts of 1977, Act 792, § 1
In Arkansas, no one can sell less than 6 chicks. However, you should be able to raise the 6 and sell the extras after they are older.