2012 FARM DAYS Schedule at the Tractor Supply Store Sanford, Maine
Starting May 12th to Oct. 6th Every Saturday from 9 am to 1 pm.
** Rain Dates will be on the following Sunday **
Everybody welcome, Come and enjoy a buy, sell or swap farm event for livestock, poultry, waterfowl, farm equipment & miscellaneous farm items.
AS ALWAYS NO SET UP FEES
Facebook page for the Farm Day Sanford at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Farm-Day-Chicken-Swap-Sanford-Me/148682458536970?sk=info
Other Maine Swaps
May 27th Sunday Central Maine Bird Fanciers SHOW Windsor fairgrounds with tail gate sales
First time ever swap in Lincoln at Aubuchon`s May 5th
Links To Other Maine Swaps
Maine ChickenStock, Swaps, Shows:
IT WILL BE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF EACH VENDOR TO ABIDE BY STATE OF MAINE LAWS AND REGULATIONS; TO PROVIDE ANY REQUIRED LICENSING, ADEQUATE SHELTER, CAGING, WATER AND FOOD FOR THEIR ANIMALS; & TO CLEAN UP THEIR AREAS WHEN LEAVING.
Maine State Laws governing the sale of poultry/waterfowl & goats
Maine State Law:
MAINE RULES AND REGS ON SALES OF LIVESTOCK, POULTRY, WATERFOWL, MILK, CHEESE
5A.All sheep & goats (no matter the age or whether castrated or not) must be tagged if they are up for sale at any event. All sheep/goat being sold from a farm need to have a tag, whether being sold in state or out of state. Castrated sheep/goat must also be tagged. The farmer is required to keep records for 5 years. A small yellow book is usually provided with the tag shipment for recording of the tag number, date sold, etc.
5B. birds do not need to be in the NPIP Program. Its great if your birds are Typhoid & Pollorum tested to keep these diseases out of US.
The only time you need to have tested birds is at a fair/show.
The only stipulations are that at public events in Maine you have to sell any birds under 8 weeks old in lots of 6, above the 8 weeks, they can go one at a time. Now, from your house or farm you can sell singular birds of any age.
You must purchase 6 from the one family the chicks are raised in, not 1 bird here, 1 bird there. (I believe its the pecking order and younger chicks could be harmed)
NO PROCESSING OR NEUTERING OF ANIMALS
Mammals must be completely weaned and minimum of 8 weeks old.
RULES FOR OUT OF STATE VENDORS
VENDORS DO NOT NEED A VENDORS LICENSE UNLESS THE VENDOR BUYS LIVESTOCK, POULTRY OR WATERFOWL TO RE-SELL
Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: A legible certificate signed by an accredited veterinarian and approved by the chief livestock official of the state or country of origin stating that the animals are free from signs of contagious, infectious and communicable diseases and containing the following:
1. An official identification number, or identification satisfactory to the commissioner, for each animal
2. Age, sex and breed of each animal
3. The results of any qualifying test
4. The exact address of consignor (sender) and consignee (receiver).
5. The expected date of entry
NH & out of state residents should have a copy of their NPIP form to show that the flocks of origin for their birds were NPIP certified.
Rule Chapters for the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources
01 001 Agriculture General
Edited by stano40 - 4/12/12 at 5:09am
Bob & Michelle/stano40
Bob & Michelle/stano40