All About Chicken Combs Single Pea Rose V Shaped Etc

Anatomy and Function Big, small, rounded, straight, wobbly, pointy, jagged... All chickens have a comb, but all combs are not the same.
By The Chicken Lady · Jan 11, 2012 · ·
Rating:
2.92857/5,
  1. mrs_organized_chaos
    "Missing pictures?"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2018
    Love the explanation of each type of comb, but there are no pictures in this article for visuals on what each comb should look like.
  2. casportpony
    "Needs pictures"
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jul 22, 2018
    Would be a 5 star if it had pictures. Add pictures and I will re-review it.
    The Phantom and Chickem707 like this.
  3. RJGM
    "Interesting"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 30, 2018
    Very interesting article
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  4. HuffleClaw
    "I love this!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Oct 14, 2018
    Very helpful!
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  5. True Patriot
    "Nice outline"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Sep 21, 2018
    I found the layout and information very interesting. The descriptions of the different types is good. I did feel like I was waiting for more at the end though. Example pictures with the descriptions of the types would be a great addition. Overall, nice article. Thanks.
    Clubber1234 likes this.
  6. imneva
    "Could use actual photos"
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    i am a visual learner. So lack of actual photos threw me off
    The Phantom likes this.
  7. EggWalrus
    "Could use some real pictures of actual combs"
    3/5, 3 out of 5, reviewed Sep 14, 2018
    This is probably gonna get me banned but here goes,
    Why would any of the Mods drag up a pretty near useless article from a 10 year member that doesn't hardly ever post? This is from 2012, and hasn't been improved upon by the original poster (or anyone else) and doesn't seem that it ever will be. I understand that the ancients are due respect, but only where respect is due. If it had been fixed way back in 2012 or even 2013 I could see including it in this great knowledge base.
    I doubt this article was written by the original Chicken Lady, who is most knowledgable. After reading many of her articles I can't understand why, if she actually wrote this, is unable to correct or improve upon this article.
    To all my friends I say good bye. After speaking this truth, you probably will never get to hear from me again after being banned.
    :love:thumbsup:highfive:
    The Phantom likes this.
  8. Anonymous
    "Good start, needs work"
    2/5, 2 out of 5, reviewed Sep 13, 2018
    The information in the table is really hard to read in mobile view. I would also like to see information about comb faults such as inverted comb, which is a recessive trait seen in pea, rose and sometimes single comb breeds.
    The Phantom likes this.
  9. Anonymous
    "Excellent info."
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Aug 9, 2018
    Very informative article. Good description’s & pics.
    The Phantom likes this.
  10. AMERAUCANAS4REAL
    "Examples would help, but very informative!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 3, 2019

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: