Bee's key points to successful and safe free ranging.

By Beekissed · Aug 16, 2013 · Updated Jun 14, 2015 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. Chickengene
    "Good read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 15, 2019
    I enjoy reading a well written article.
    This one kept my interest till the end.
    Good job.
  2. featheredfeet71
    "Very helpful and thorough article on free ranging."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 14, 2019
    In searching BYC for information on when to start free ranging chicks, this article came up first and answered my question perfectly. The information is complete and clearly stated. A big thumbs up to the author!
  3. bonsaiherb
    "Free Range tips for chickens"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 23, 2018
    That was a great article. Many good points - more on the FENCING needed as I have found out the hard way that 4 inch spaced wire will not keep chickens in. Same for 'flighty birds' in general.

    View attachment 1513833

    One reason 'Free Range' does not work. I seem to be blessed with rebels and contrarians. Cannot believe these ingrates decide to lay out in the bushes when I have provided such a nice hen house and nesting boxes. :-(
    Amethyst Gem, Americana, Speckled Sussex, EE, OE and Cuckoo Maran - no matter. They prefer to lay in a group nest outside the hen house. Will have to lock them up for a full day to start them over.
  4. honanbm
    "Fantastic, concise article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 8, 2019
    Love this article. So much useful information in a neat, concise little package. Well stated.
    Thank you for sharing your insight.
    Beekissed likes this.
  5. SueT
    "excellent!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 7, 2019
    this article says it all.
    no need to add anything...
    Beekissed likes this.
  6. Florida Bullfrog
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2019
    This article matches my experiences. A good dog, the right breeds, and natural cover for your chickens, go a long way towards eliminating large-scale loss to predators when free ranging.
    Beekissed likes this.
  7. boggart
    "A Good Read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2019
    Very useful and straight to the point
    Beekissed likes this.
  8. BigBlueHen53
    "A Must-Read"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2019
    Good article, practical and pithy, full of useful information, well-organized and articulate. Will look for more from this author.
    Beekissed likes this.
  9. janiedoe
    "A great article for every chicken owner"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 5, 2019
    Excellent info. I'm glad that I read this article before allowing my hens to hatch fall chicks.
    Beekissed likes this.
  10. MROO
    "Prep for Free-Ranging - GREAT Info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 17, 2019
    This is a great intro to free-ranging - lots of good ideas with some personal experiences thrown in, to boot. Nicely Done!
    Beekissed likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: