Deep Litter Method The Easiest Way To Deal With Chicken Litter Dlm

Deep Litter Method is basically a method in which you allow your coop litter to build up over a period of time.
By Dawn419 · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated May 1, 2012 · ·
Rating:
4.875/5,
  1. Kate Shaw
    "Great info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 5, 2019
    Newbie here. Thanks for the simplified info!
    Iditarod likes this.
  2. Celticdragonfly
    "Good bedding article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 3, 2019
    This is a good article, that encouraged me to try this.

    I would have liked more information on the pros and cons of DE - I've seen a lot of questions about using it on other threads. I am using PDZ on the poop boards, and am unsure whether adding that to the litter would do as well.

    And extra points for naming your bantam coop the Teacup Pterodactyl Townhouse!
    Iditarod likes this.
  3. Caden Clinton
    "Good advice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 30, 2019
    This is a great information “getter”.
    It has good advice and facts that back her up.:D
    Iditarod likes this.
  4. cuquitina
    "Such a useful method!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 7, 2019
    I think my coops are too small for this but I will give it a try anyway.
    I guess you can easily drop all the contents after one year or the time you let it stay in your composting bins?
  5. cluckmecoop7
    "I'm going to do it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 18, 2019
    This really helped me decide what to do for my chicken coop. I am very happy that you shared this with us. Thank you! I am going to do this! :)
  6. Yuo
    "Good Article I do something similar"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    I go every two months during the winter, being that I have 30 New Jersey Giants. After reading your article I might see about going a little longer. If I could make it through the winter with only 1 change that would make my life easier and warmer. I'm not sure if I understand how the smell is less though? What is counteracting it?
    cluckmecoop7 likes this.
  7. Wee Farmer Sarah
    "DLM on wood floor...."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Dec 31, 2018
    I have a wood floor in my coop and yes, it does decompose. It's a little slower but it works.
  8. NanaKat
    "DLM for 20 years"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 11, 2018
    A nice article that is a great conversation stimulator.
    Even 20 years using DLM I learn from new comments.
    cluckmecoop7 likes this.
  9. Anonymous
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 6, 2018
    As winter is approaching and I constantly looking at better ways to winterize the coop, I fell upon DLM here. Definitely will attempt this during the winter!
  10. Kat2141
    "It does make it pretty easy"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 19, 2018
    I did the DLM last winter and I believe it did help with making it warmer. My girls are in an unused, large remodeled horse stall in a barn. The horses are not in the barn much so no heat generated from them and the stall has a wood floor. As such it isn't overly warm and I think this really helped to keep the floor warmer for when they were locked in for a while due to snow. It also made care so much easier. I didn't do the DE but it sounds like a good idea and I think I will do that this year. I did clean it out in the spring and have done weekly cleanings through the summer... lately I've been wondering why I did that. :) Maybe I won't do that next year, not sure yet.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: