We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

Deep Litter Method The Easiest Way To Deal With Chicken Litter Dlm

Deep Litter Method is basically a method in which you allow your coop litter to build up over a period of time.
By Dawn419 · Jan 11, 2012 · Updated May 1, 2012 · ·
Rating:
4.88462/5,
  1. MrPaw
    "Very helpful idea and execution"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Aug 6, 2019
    I will definitely be doing this soon. It will help in the winter and keep the smell and flies down in the summer. Right now I clean out the poop every 2-3 days.
    Compost King likes this.
  2. jbowen53
    "Had No Idea About This Method"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 20, 2019
    Just a great article with very helpful information.
  3. Kate Shaw
    "Great info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 5, 2019
    Newbie here. Thanks for the simplified info!
    Iditarod likes this.
  4. Celticdragonfly
    "Good bedding article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 3, 2019
    This is a good article, that encouraged me to try this.

    I would have liked more information on the pros and cons of DE - I've seen a lot of questions about using it on other threads. I am using PDZ on the poop boards, and am unsure whether adding that to the litter would do as well.

    And extra points for naming your bantam coop the Teacup Pterodactyl Townhouse!
    Iditarod likes this.
  5. Caden Clinton
    "Good advice"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 30, 2019
    This is a great information “getter”.
    It has good advice and facts that back her up.:D
    Iditarod likes this.
  6. cuquitina
    "Such a useful method!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Mar 7, 2019
    I think my coops are too small for this but I will give it a try anyway.
    I guess you can easily drop all the contents after one year or the time you let it stay in your composting bins?
  7. cluckmecoop7
    "I'm going to do it!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 18, 2019
    This really helped me decide what to do for my chicken coop. I am very happy that you shared this with us. Thank you! I am going to do this! :)
  8. Yuo
    "Good Article I do something similar"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    I go every two months during the winter, being that I have 30 New Jersey Giants. After reading your article I might see about going a little longer. If I could make it through the winter with only 1 change that would make my life easier and warmer. I'm not sure if I understand how the smell is less though? What is counteracting it?
    cluckmecoop7 likes this.
  9. Wee Farmer Sarah
    "DLM on wood floor...."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Dec 31, 2018
    I have a wood floor in my coop and yes, it does decompose. It's a little slower but it works.
  10. NanaKat
    "DLM for 20 years"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 11, 2018
    A nice article that is a great conversation stimulator.
    Even 20 years using DLM I learn from new comments.
    cluckmecoop7 likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: