Hen Hideout

By CovertChickOps · Jul 18, 2012 · Updated Sep 30, 2016 · ·
Rating:
4.93333/5,
  1. Nardo
    "Terrific PVC mobile"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed May 16, 2019
    Great mobile coop tractor! And also good job on the newer more permanent coops.
  2. AnimalGeek23
    "Simply AMAZED."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 8, 2019
    Literally, after reading this article, I was in shock.
    This was such an amazing idea, and the coop definitely looks secure and just simply awesome.
    I'll definitely follow this guide!!!
  3. Nifty-Chicken
    "Wow, such a brilliant design!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 8, 2019
    Yup, I LOVE the wheels system and watching you push it with just one finger... AMAZING!!!

    :thumbsup
  4. Butterscotchbitesfinger
    "Oh wow!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 7, 2019
    THaaTS so cool! I want a coop like that.
  5. sourland
    ""Stealth Coop""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 5, 2019
    Well done, and well presented. Love the details and pictures. Should last a long time. I especially liked some of your innovations for watering and treat presentation.
  6. eggup
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    Great info - love the included detail/video about the wheels!
  7. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Love it!!!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
  8. Gargoyle
    "Cool coop"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    Nice concept, well-executed and explained very clearly. I appreciate all the updates to see how it worked over time. It appears you don't have predator issues in your area, I'd still be concerned about that with this design.
  9. HennyPenny2019
    "Thanks!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Nov 24, 2018
    I loved reading your whole story and think your plan is ingenious! We also live in a town that doesn’t allow chickens (so stupid) but hope to move before long and I will use many of your ideas to start my own coop. Bless you for sharing.
  10. Daniel M Webb
    "We love the Hen Hideout"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jul 15, 2018
    Our hens love it, and so do we. My daughter did all the planning, measuring, and painting, and I did all the table saw work and dangerous stuff.

    The coop end is quite heavy, probably most women and kids won't be able to lift it. I tig welded some aluminum 1" square tube to make ergonomic handles on the coop end, which has worked extremely well.

    The tractor feature is great. Unlike the original designer, we move it all the time (twice a day when I'm not at work, and once a day when I am). That way the poop gets evenly dispersed around the yard, and the hens have new grass to play in all the time.

    It's so much better than our previous coop with regards to the laying box, because the hens only use the laying box for laying, and the eggs are very clean as a result. It has been a month and we still haven't needed to change out the nesting material.


    View attachment 1469624 View attachment 1469625
    HennyPenny2019 likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: