Keeping a Rooster

By Reurra · Jul 3, 2013 · ·
Rating:
4.74359/5,
  1. Celticdragonfly
    "Useful and clear"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 3, 2019
    Useful practical article that was also entertaining to read. I'll come back to this one when I live somewhere I can have a rooster.
    chrissynemetz likes this.
  2. Grllcluck
    "great tips on roos!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Feb 16, 2019
    thank for the great article! Our first foray into tending a backyard flock gifted us with one Roo, our all iridescent black PepperRoo. He is the light of our garden of hens; from his first hysterical gargling moaning crowing practises to his spot-on kind treatment and management of his girls. He never insists on his perogative, - only covering hens amenable to his advances while letting the girls who aren't in the mood pass by unmolested (so far no bald necks!) - crows a reasonable amount, and always ALWAYS calls the girls over when he finds food - even picking up any really special finds and holding it until one of his harem runs over to accept it.
    But. While he has never attacked me, he absolutely cannot abide by my husband. He does crow, mount hens, and rise up to flap his wings in my presence, I think he must consider me to be a tall pink unfeathered mama hen since I'm the one who opens the coop every morning then proceeds to offer all the treats - probably reinforced by my habit of raking back tamped down layers of the straw and leaves so they can get at any worms or tender shoots hiding beneath every now and then.
    But PepperRoo obviously sees my husband as either a threat or a competitor whenever he joins me in the chicken yard. He's tried carrying Pepper tucked under his arm while walking around; he's hand fed Pepper peanuts, he's tried stepping forward into Pepper when he starts showing aggression. That hasn't worked. The latest resort has been for hubby to carry large window screen with him so that when Pepper attacks he hits the screen instead of my husband's shins. Very aggravating for hubby.
    We'll try the "pecking" treatment, and - thanks to your article - have my husband try the step-toward movement when Pepper mounts hens, crows, or mantles in his presence. We both agree PR's good behaviors far outweigh his aggressive behavior - especially since, while hubby is the one who makes sure they have food and water inside the coop and closes up the coop every evening after they've gone to roost, he spends very little time with them other than that nightly ritual.
    Thanks again for the great tips!
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  3. Jules929
    "Great info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 19, 2019
    I didn't know that a cockerel/rooster crowing while I am in the coop was a sign of aggression/dominance. You just cemented what I suspected. Of my 2 cockerels, I now know for certain which one to remove!
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  4. FeatherstoneFrm
    "Great article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 17, 2019
    Good advice. I love my rooster. They are valuable to the flock as protectors and I love to hear him crow in the morning. In addition to some of the things you mentioned, I occasionally walk at him and make him move out of my way. If he decides to be brave and come at me, I quickly stick my foot under him and scoop him up and toss him away. It doesn't hurt him but he keeps his distance for a few days.
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  5. Saaniya
    "Awesome article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 16, 2019
    Love it really briefly described I really love reading it all I've rooster flock
    I love rooster I know most people really don't like roosters I hope someday they have a equal place like all birds
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  6. preacherjake
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 15, 2019
    Thanks for this article. I’m just getting started with laying hens and have a rooster in the bunch. They are all 20+ weeks old and the hens would be laying if it weren’t for the cold temps. Right now I’m planning to keep the roo...but we’ll see.
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  7. Better Than Rubies
    "Very interesting article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jan 14, 2019
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  8. FlyWheel
    "This so hits home!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 14, 2019
    I too had my reign of rabble rousing roosters, and after the fourth in a row I said $crew it, and rehomed the last one. I knew all along hens layed on their own, and the ten I had easily provided enough eggs. Your article made it all sound like fun!
    chrissynemetz and Wendy Case like this.
  9. Keeperofmunchkins
    ""
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    Well written and good information. A lot of us will be able to relate to the bad experiences and the information on how to tame rooster's was good. Of course it is unusual to get a very friendly pet type rooster and this article reflects the more common rooster pros and cons.
  10. Shadrach
    "Hysteria at it's best."
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jan 13, 2019
    I read this article and frankly I was appalled. It’s full of frightened old wives tales and what’s worse, dead roosters.
    Normally I would just pass this by. However, people are going to read this nonsense given it’s a featured thread.
    What has upset me most is you can write a good story which could be an enormous asset to teaching if the information was correct.
    I’ve picked out just a few passages that I think are worth commenting on.



    “because we all know hens wont lay eggs unless they have a rooster.”
    This must be humor because as it reads it’s complete and utter nonsense.

    "Then it dawned on me. Roosters just cant be pets.”
    There are many people who keep roosters as pets here on BYC.

    "Pretty soon, I felt an attack was imminent and banned my sons from visiting the coop.”
    This is the most sensible part of the article and good advice for anyone who keeps roosters. Don’t let children near them.

    "To that end, the roosters brain is on constant defense mode. Some roosters on the other hand, take it a step further, because fortune favors the prepared, they attack anything and everything that could be a threat.”
    If only this was true; I would have less dead hens. Most roosters give the warning call and run. They’re not stupid creatures.

    "But I am the one that gives him permission. I had Stinky trained to the point that he would stay squatting down, head to the floor until I nudged him.”
    Just sad.

    "Always show strength and dominance. You are the superior being, bigger and have the axe. Never forget it, and make sure he does not either.”

    If only this was true. A superior bing wouldn’t have to kill a succession of roosters because they couldn’t handle them. Just being bigger and supposedly smarter should do the trick. You don’t need the axe.

    I could write more but I would be wasting my time.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: