Australorp

Average User Rating:
4.41408/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Single
    Broodiness:
    Average
    Climate Tolerance:
    All Climates
    Egg Productivity:
    High
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly, Easily handled, Calm, Bears confinement well, Quiet, Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Black, Blue and White are recognised in the Australian Poultry Standards
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    English
    LL.jpg

    The Australorp is an Australian breed which was developed from Black Orpingtons imported into Australia starting around 1890. The egg laying ability of the Orpingtons was emphasized by the Australian breeders, and other breeds including Minorca, Leghorns, and Langshans were bred into the lines to increase egg production and decrease broodiness. The result was a bird with exceptional egg laying ability. They were popular entries in egg laying contests in the day and for years Australorps held many of the world egg laying records, one hen famously laying 364 eggs in 365 days.

    These "Australian Black Orpingtons" were given the name Australorp around 1920. Australorps were exported in the US and England in the 1920’s, where they were an immediate hit because of their great egg laying ability, and they remain a very popular breed to this day.

    Australorps are a medium sized breed. The APA recognises only one color, the original Black, but there are several other colors developed by breeders, including Blue and White, which is recognized in Australia.

    They tend to be calm, docile, fairly quiet birds, with nice temperaments and they make good pets. The roosters are generally good natured. They are dependable winter layers of big brown eggs, fairly heat tolerant despite the usually black feathers, and quite cold hardy. They generally do not fly well and take well to confinement. The hens will occasionally go broody and make good mothers. They are very popular with backyard flock owners looking for a friendly productive brown egg layer, and small flock owners looking for a duel purpose breed with hens that have excellent laying ability.

    It was recognized by the APA in 1929 and it is on The Livestock Conservancy's Recovering list.

    First egg laid by an Australorp pullet:
    20180223_161335.jpg

    A male and female Australorp, aged 11 weeks:
    juvie.jpg

    Australorp rooster:

    7005.jpg

    Australorp hen:
    LLhen.jpg

    For more on this breed and owners' experiences, likes and dislikes, see our breed discussion here:

    https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/chicken-breed-focus-australorp.988347/
  • 139179ca_6578344441_b0f661d857_z.jpeg 1dd369d9_australorp-14027-500741.jpeg 746ee0d3_australorp-14027-544344.jpeg 95125619_100_1927sm2.jpeg fc3362ad_chicks.jpeg 3dab0934_900x600px-LL-51f3263f_53131_ednagrab.jpeg ee28f559_625279522LL.jpeg 5ae2e3dc_5913626039_cdfacd18a2_z.jpeg 94070e4d_6007149720_c9e5145067_z.jpeg 09e14b4d_666.jpeg 1e7cbf75_IMAG0116-1.jpeg 6c1b3248_-5.jpeg 283a8c34_Kellys2012-13002.jpeg f762f1f0_DSCN1602.jpeg acba6bc0_chickschool.jpeg 4dee634f_DSC02187.jpeg c31dcd81_Kelly5-7-13181.jpeg e73a7be0_blackandredday.jpeg ba792d60_image.jpeg 9ae38ea9_P52806062.jpeg 01a80b57_November15th2013Chickens166.jpeg b1b148cc_pengf.jpeg 934452fe_pengfaus.jpeg 77280e22_8433372764_337f0805dc_m.jpeg d2f7337b_1397232086116.jpeg 0cd63c24_20140508_blackaustralorp.jpeg f361c3ff_PhotoCollageMaker_MjSh4y.png f9c1117d_PhotoCollageMaker_8nnZpa.png ded94c5d_2014-07-0110.27.28.jpeg de319a75_ToffeeToph.png 6b6f16cd_image.jpeg 478571f0_969548_orig.jpeg a9ab023d_2111096_orig.jpeg 9a1d9e38_4674258_orig.jpeg 24ff321c_IMG_1760.jpeg 0347e828_Mickey.jpeg efcc2a38_021.jpeg 1e1465f4_20160527_152925.jpeg 57815ce7_16110141_1858970904345475_6747556787823575040_n1.jpeg 6f6792de_20170409_151427_HDR.jpeg LL.jpg 20180223_161335.jpg LL.jpg LLhen.jpg juvie.jpg 7005.jpg

  • Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Single
    Broodiness: Average
    Climate Tolerance: All Climates

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    High
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Shy,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Black, Blue & White (rare)
    Breed Details:
    I find Australorps to be very easy going chickens. They are friendly, quiet and very good egg layers, laying as many as 300 eggs a year. They do well with other breeds and weather the winter months well. Two of my girls went broody at the same time and sat in the same nest together, taking turns giving each other a break to eat and drink. They even sat on other chickens

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. HennyPenny2019
    5/5,
    "Very Informative"
    Pros - I just got m first Australorp chick .... she is SO beautiful with the dearest face and friendly.
    Cons - Nothing ...
    This isn’t a true review as I have had my 4 chicks only 5 days. But since I was getting so few and they are truly “pets with benefits” I based my 4 choices on the reviews of others. So far ... perfect!
  2. want2know
    5/5,
    "Sweet and beautiful"
    Pros - Love her little coos, good egg layer, mixes well with other chicks and chickens
    Cons - vulnerable to aggressive chicken breeds, too sweet and passive to defend herself
    Like the breed well enough i got two more Australorp chicks when adding to my flock.
    HennyPenny2019 likes this.
  3. Virginia and James
    5/5,
    "Stellar bird"
    Pros - She lays every day. Every single day! Very friendly and easygoing, will add more in the future.
    Cons - Nope!
    Purchase Price:
    15
    HennyPenny2019 and Beak1960 like this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. bunsmac
    Mine looks just like the picture,Shes a gangster around the newbies,But a prolific egg layer of light brown eggs.
  2. Camellia
    gorgeous birds, great temperament, amazing egg layer! They are fine broodys, too! I recommend this breed for anyone who wants a dual purpose, sweet, and docile bird :thumbsup
  3. BearBottomBasinFarm
    I have A black Australorp rooster. He is HUGE and his spurs are so long. If any one of his gals seems to be in distress (or cackling while laying an egg), He goes running to them & is very protective over his flock. He is the SWEETEST guy & Lets me walk right up to him & pick him up. He has never shown any signs of aggression towards people & I am so happy he is a part of our flock. His temperament is the greatest <3
    1. cluckmecoop7
      Wow! That's great!
      cluckmecoop7, Mar 11, 2019
      BearBottomBasinFarm likes this.
  4. Broodygranny
    Great layers, I really like them!
  5. Mitchellwhitey
    I got 6 of these birds 1 year ago today. The lady at tractor supply said they were all hens and one turned out to be a rooster! Overall great birds and good layers, but one of them have a partial prolapse right now.
      BearBottomBasinFarm likes this.
    1. BearBottomBasinFarm
      Yes, There always seems to be one Roo that sneaks by with the hens. Sorry to hear about the prolapse :( It is so hard to see any injuries & issues with our babies. Best wishes on your fluffy butt.
      BearBottomBasinFarm, Mar 12, 2019
  6. cluckmecoop7
    I like this breed and I think it is the one for me! I am very exited to get Austrulorp chicks in early March.

    Cute breed. :love
  7. Diannastarr
    I have 17 aussies going on 3 years old they always have been great layers of large eggs, no fuss no muss just good dependable birds ,the aussies are good tempered, I will always keep some aussies & Road island whites, they have good temperament's to...!!!
    1. hitchyourwagon
      I agree I have tried several breeds over the years but these birds are gentle, handsome, and great layers.
      hitchyourwagon, Apr 8, 2019
  8. ttrackwell
    Love our 9, however, We have one who likes to fly over the fence. However, not able to figure out how to get back into the run. This chickens name is "Captain Obvious"! :p
  9. Ribh
    Love these! I have these & Barred Rocks & a very calm, easy~going flock; no fighting. They get along really well with my other birds & lay really well. Lovely temperament.
  10. alexa009
    Probably the worst breed I have ever owned. They are calm and decent layers but are so aggressive! They beat up other chickens for no reason. My australorp has been raised with the other chickens since they were chicks.. now they are 2 years of age and have drawn blood from my buff orpington and never fails to chase my red sex link until she can rip out her feathers. Except for the Delawares and Australorps, my other chicken breeds get along wonderfully. My Red Sex Link, Buff Orpington, Easter Eggers, Brahmas, White and Barred Plymouth Rocks are a very easygoing and friendly flock.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. BearBottomBasinFarm
      Wow! So sorry to hear this! I have a mixed breed flock. The only things that are aggressive are my husbands noisy Guinea Hens. I have never had an issue with any bullying, So I am lucky I guess. Everyone definitely can end up with both ends of the spectrum. Hope you find a good fit & happy community. Best wishes.
      BearBottomBasinFarm, Mar 12, 2019
      alexa009 likes this.
    3. Kates Chooks
      One of the best breeds I have ever owned. Smarter than other breeds, they are Houdini escape artists . Never bother the other hens, never aggressive. Goes to show there are always different personalities within a breed.
      Kates Chooks, Apr 7, 2019
      alexa009 likes this.
    4. alexa009
      I've heard of so many positive reviews on Australorps that maybe I just had bad luck with one chicken. Mine is also sweet natured around humans and is an outstanding egg producer. I've heard of so many positive reviews on Australorps being friendly with their flockmates that I would definitely consider getting the breed again. :)
      alexa009, Apr 7, 2019

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: