Ayam Cemani Chicken

Average User Rating:
4.33333/5,
  • A black boned chicken from Indonesia.
  • dacae0c0_522019_288898671235362_554780224_n.jpeg 7b4e4051_2015-03-2518.33.26.jpeg f20f015d_2015-02-0512.22.16.jpeg 77e02824_2015-02-0512.25.52.jpeg 5cec1cb4_image.jpeg

  • Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:


    Comb:

    Broodiness: Not typically broody

    Climate Tolerance:


    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:


    Egg Size:

    Egg Color: Light Brown to White


    Breed Temperament:



    Breed Colors / Varieties: All Black




    Breed Details:





    Chicken Breed Photos:


    Primary Image




    Rooster



    Hen



    Egg




    Chick




    Adolescent



BigMikeAz likes this.

Recent User Reviews

  1. thehighandlow
    5/5,
    "Best hen in my flock..."
    Pros - Docile and friendly, with an excellent personality and stunningly beautiful.
    Cons - Not a reliable layer and expensive.
    View attachment 1247927 View attachment 1247928 View attachment 1247929 View attachment 1247930 View attachment 1247930 View attachment 1247927 View attachment 1247928 View attachment 1247929 View attachment 1247930 Becky, my super goth ayam cemani hen, is hands down the nicest bird in my flock. She came out of some hatching eggs I got from feather lover farms a few years ago and was the only female! Becky comes a runnin' to me when I go outside for attention and worms. It's hilarious. Sometimes she'll even jump on my lap. Highly recommend these birds as pets and as an addition to your flock. Since she doesn't lay reliably, I wouldn't recommend as the only type of chicken.
    Purchase Price:
    6 hatching eggs- $199
    Purchase Date:
    3/2015

    images

    1. IMG_0351.JPG
    2. IMG_0379.JPG
    3. IMG_0557.JPG
    4. IMG_1340.JPG
    VHoff likes this.
  2. sunflour
    5/5,
    "Awesome"
    I have never seen this breed, so different and gorgeous.
  3. KayTee
    4/5,
    "Beautiful but nervous birds"
    Pros - They look fantastic!
    Cons - Nervous breed but can be tamed.
    I have three Ayam Cemani birds that were hatched this spring by a broody Bielefelder. She has hatched me a couple of dozen chicks over the last three years, and these are the only ones that have ever turned out to be so nervous, so I have to assume that it's the breed, and not the way they were raised.

    However they are beautiful birds, with a calm (if very nervous) nature. I have two pullets and a rooster, who started to crow at 7 weeks old! He crowed half a dozen times over a couple of weeks, then stopped, and didn't start again until he was over 4 months old. At 6 months he has just started mounting the hens, and he is very gentle with them - not aggressive in any way. He is braver than his sisters, and will happily come and eat out of my hand, although I can only touch him when he is on the roost at night. His two sisters are very flighty - scared of their own shadows, and need a lot of persuading to even eat out of my hand.

    *Edit* With age the two pullets have become much braver and less nervous. They both eat out of my hand without problem now, and are easier to pick up and handle. Interestingly they both decided to brood during their first winter - one in January and one in February, but have turned out to be wonderful chicken mums!
    However their brother, despite being the alpha male in the flock, is still as nervous as ever, and backs away whenever I come near him. I doubt that will change, but he will stay with the flock as he is still gentle with his girls, and really beautiful!
    LauraQ likes this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. Crooked path
    My 1st hen is the most friendly of my flock! She sprints to the door of the run whenever we get close and insists on her offering of dried meal worms. Just got a rooster who's pretty stable and nice. Overall, pretty impressed with their temperament.
    1. Gootsis
      Who was the breeder you bought them from?
      Gootsis, Jan 23, 2018
      LauraQ likes this.
  2. IamCemini
    I love my Ayam Hen and her halfblood brother. My little hen has a disability, but she is smart, lively, and opinionated.
  3. rossfam06
    I love my Ayams! If they are raised by constant people, held, fed, played with, etc, they are less flighty. Mine have no issues being held and are super sweet. I have not had one mean rooster yet!
      LauraQ likes this.
    1. LauraQ
      What breeder did you get your Ayams from?
      LauraQ, Jan 24, 2018
  4. Abriana
    That last review is so sweet!
    Really striking birds!
  5. Lisa Wood
    Love the true black on black. Just lovely.
  6. 0wen
  7. Dubrovnik
    Are these the same birds that Murray McMurray sells as Sumatras?
    1. Ayam onthe Farm
      No
      Ayam onthe Farm, Jun 7, 2017
  8. Dubrovnik
  9. katiedarling
    @Honora that's a good one! love it.

    @notcat I just came from a breeder's place where I was picking up some chicks and she had one there. And some babies that had just hatched recently. I wanted so badly to bring one home! Poppy is beautiful!
  10. Honora
    You could change the spelling to Papi, lol. He is gorgeous!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by