1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Ayam Cemani

Average User Rating:
4.42857/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Ornamental
    Comb:
    Single
    Broodiness:
    Poor
    Climate Tolerance:
    Fair
    Egg Productivity:
    ± 70 eggs annually
    Egg Size:
    Medium
    Egg Color:
    Cream to tan
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Black
    Breed Size:
    Large fowl
    Color:
    Black
    4005.jpg

    Mystical, unusual, rare and shrouded in mystery, the Ayam Cemani breed is hard to ignore, or forget, once seen in the flesh. The word "Cemani" means "total black" and best describes this unusual breed that is rumoured to be black as tar right down to it's organs! Pure Cemanis sport black combs, wattles, skins and feathers. A look inside their mouths should show a black tongue as well.

    Originally from Indonesia, off the island of Java, the breed is shrouded in mystery. Little is known about the origin of the breed, except that they have been used for centuries by warriors and shamans as sacrifices, or to bring good luck and wealth to their owners. The breed was reintroduced to Europe by a Dutch breeder by the name of Jan Steverink and has since been introduced to the United States as well. Pure Cemanis are highly sought after and steadily gaining popularity with breeders in Europe, the UK and USA.

    egg.jpg
    Ayam Cemani egg

    chick.jpg
    Ayam Cemani chicks

    4006.jpg
    Ayam Cemani juvenile

    77e02824_2015-02-0512.25.52.jpeg
    Ayam Cemani hens

    700.jpeg
    Ayam Cemani rooster

    For more information on this breed and their owners' and breeders' experiences with them, see our breed discussion here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/chicken-breed-focus-ayam-cemani.1072107/
  • dacae0c0_522019_288898671235362_554780224_n.jpeg 7b4e4051_2015-03-2518.33.26.jpeg f20f015d_2015-02-0512.22.16.jpeg 77e02824_2015-02-0512.25.52.jpeg 5cec1cb4_image.jpeg 4005.jpg 4006.jpg chick.jpg 700.jpeg hens.jpg egg.jpg

  • Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:


    Comb:

    Broodiness: Not typically broody

    Climate Tolerance:


    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:


    Egg Size:

    Egg Color: Light Brown to White


    Breed Temperament:



    Breed Colors / Varieties: All Black




    Breed Details:





    Chicken Breed Photos:


    Primary Image




    Rooster



    Hen



    Egg




    Chick




    Adolescent



BigMikeAz likes this.

Recent User Reviews

  1. SheppardRanch
    5/5,
    "Great Birds!!"
    Pros - Beautiful docile relatively sturdy and cold tolerant
    Cons - Smaller eggs=smaller chicks and can get trampled easier if mixed with larger chicks in brooder
    We have bred and sold them for a couple of years now and they are really wonderful birds. Obviously beautiful but also more docile and cold hearty than one might assume from their exotic.

    images

    1. IMG_0513.jpg
  2. thehighandlow
    5/5,
    "Best hen in my flock..."
    Pros - Docile and friendly, with an excellent personality and stunningly beautiful.
    Cons - Not a reliable layer and expensive.
    View attachment 1247927 View attachment 1247928 View attachment 1247929 View attachment 1247930 View attachment 1247930 View attachment 1247927 View attachment 1247928 View attachment 1247929 View attachment 1247930 Becky, my super goth ayam cemani hen, is hands down the nicest bird in my flock. She came out of some hatching eggs I got from feather lover farms a few years ago and was the only female! Becky comes a runnin' to me when I go outside for attention and worms. It's hilarious. Sometimes she'll even jump on my lap. Highly recommend these birds as pets and as an addition to your flock. Since she doesn't lay reliably, I wouldn't recommend as the only type of chicken.
    Purchase Price:
    6 hatching eggs- $199
    Purchase Date:
    3/2015

    images

    1. IMG_0351.JPG
    2. IMG_0379.JPG
    3. IMG_0557.JPG
    4. IMG_1340.JPG
    Little Chicken Girl and VHoff like this.
  3. sunflour
    5/5,
    "Awesome"
    I have never seen this breed, so different and gorgeous.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. SheppardRanch
    We have bred and sold them for a couple of years now and they are really wonderful birds. Obviously beautiful but also more docile and cold hearty than one might assume from their exotic.
  2. Crooked path
    My 1st hen is the most friendly of my flock! She sprints to the door of the run whenever we get close and insists on her offering of dried meal worms. Just got a rooster who's pretty stable and nice. Overall, pretty impressed with their temperament.
    1. Gootsis
      Who was the breeder you bought them from?
      Gootsis, Jan 23, 2018
      LauraQ likes this.
  3. IamCemini
    I love my Ayam Hen and her halfblood brother. My little hen has a disability, but she is smart, lively, and opinionated.
  4. rossfam06
    I love my Ayams! If they are raised by constant people, held, fed, played with, etc, they are less flighty. Mine have no issues being held and are super sweet. I have not had one mean rooster yet!
      LauraQ likes this.
    1. LauraQ
      What breeder did you get your Ayams from?
      LauraQ, Jan 24, 2018
  5. Abriana
    That last review is so sweet!
    Really striking birds!
  6. Lisa Wood
    Love the true black on black. Just lovely.
  7. 0wen
  8. Dubrovnik
    Are these the same birds that Murray McMurray sells as Sumatras?
    1. Ayam onthe Farm
      No
      Ayam onthe Farm, Jun 7, 2017
  9. Dubrovnik
  10. katiedarling
    @Honora that's a good one! love it.

    @notcat I just came from a breeder's place where I was picking up some chicks and she had one there. And some babies that had just hatched recently. I wanted so badly to bring one home! Poppy is beautiful!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by