Barred Rock

Average User Rating:
4.25327/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Single
    Broodiness:
    Average
    Climate Tolerance:
    All Climates
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Kind, Skittish
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Barred (black and white)
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    American
    20170905_152814.jpg
    Barred Rock Rooster​

    The Plymouth Rock a.k.a. Barred Rock is a very popular duel-purpose American breed, known for their excellent laying ability, general hardiness, and calm good nature which makes them a good choice for small backyard flocks and homesteaders.

    Chickens called "Plymouth Rocks" were shown as early as 1849, but that flock disappeared and later strains from several different breeders combined to form the foundation of today’s Plymouth Rock breed. Mr. D.A. Upham of Worcester, MA is credited as being one of the primary influences on the breed, he first exhibited his birds at the Worcester, MA poultry exhibition in 1869. His birds are generally acknowledged to be the ancestors of the breed we know today.

    A number of different breeds are reputed to have gone into the formation of the Plymouth Rock, including Dominique, Brahma, Black Java and Cochin. The breed gained a great deal of popularity quickly and the Plymouth Rock became the most popular farm chicken in the United States up until WWII.

    The original color of the breed was Barred and early in the breeds history the name "Plymouth Rock" implied a barred bird. Barred varieties remain the most popular color today. As more color varieties were developed, the name Plymouth Rock became the designation for the entire breed, which can now can be found in other colors including White, Buff, Partridge, Silver Penciled, Columbian and Blue.

    The Barred Plymouth Rock was one of the breeds used as the foundation for the commercial broiler industry in the united States in the 1920's and the White Rock is still often used as the female side of the Cornish Rocks or Cornish Cross type commercial broiler cross.

    They are single combed, quite winter hardy, and the hens are good layers of brown eggs. They are occasionally broody and make good setters and mothers.

    The Plymouth Rock breed was recognized by the APA in 1874 and is on The Livestock Conservancy's Recovering list.

    ca7cc23e_chicks3.jpeg
    Barred Rock chicks

    BR pullet.jpg
    Barred Rock Juvenile (pullet)

    c0764186_20130908_163728.jpg
    Barred Rock hen
  • 0431f373_one-patch-drama-queen.jpeg 93db5669_1331372955_20120411_1927311.jpeg a4463a49_DSC02569.jpeg f6383474_DSCF7227.jpeg 144631ba_DSCF7231.jpeg c58ef86c_Kellys2012-13026.jpeg 313a810e_Kellys2012-13038.jpeg e2ccfabc_BarredRock2.jpeg 7be79206_My3IowaBlues.jpeg a198004e_20130908_110855.jpeg c0764186_20130908_163728.jpeg dfcfbe16_banjo.jpeg 41179d7a_2013-12-2714.32.00.jpeg 00264d4b_1369090359987.jpeg 2efae8d1_photo13.jpeg 65d36c27_IMG_1402.jpeg b28236b2_DSC07317.jpeg 34fd7a60_61Days3.jpeg 36aaa4e8_DSC_0024-3.jpeg 5a690b38_image.jpeg d3a21958_DSCF6075.jpeg 4be0dd00_DSCF6128.jpeg 9c9f6649_IMG_1651.jpeg ca7cc23e_chicks3.jpeg 22e47948_IMG_3112.jpeg 6283b9ad_Layla.jpeg 6e3dff58_image.jpeg 8664001f_IMG_20160712_173005488.jpeg 24f97899_DSC05815.jpeg 20170905_152814.jpg BR pullet.jpg c0764186_20130908_163728.jpg

  • Chicken Breed Info:

    Breed Purpose: Dual purpose

    Comb: Single

    Broodiness: Average

    Climate Tolerance: All


    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity: High


    Egg Size: Large

    Egg Color: Brown


    Breed Temperament: Kind, Calm, Skittish, Sweet, Docile, Over Protective Cocks



    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Black and White Barring



    Breed Details:





    Chicken Breed Photos:


    Primary Image

    [​IMG]


    Rooster

    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]


    Egg (left)
    [​IMG]



    Chick
    [​IMG]



    Adolescent

    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. featherhead007
    5/5,
    "Beautiful Rocks"
    Pros - Very gentile hens, wonderful temperament. A great snuggle chicken, and breakfast dispenser.
    Cons - Some people look at them, and ask " is that a chicken? That's a weird color!" But those people have seen way too many cartoons I'm guessing!
    I just love my two rocks!
    Especially Rocks-Anne, super snuggle chicken, and has been from the time she hatched. Kinda a "up on the lap" type. You all know that kind of pet!:love
    Purchase Price:
    $2.00
    Purchase Date:
    2/21/2017

    images

    1. image.jpg
    2. image.jpg
  2. BarredRockMommy
    5/5,
    "Favorite Breed of Chicken"
    Pros - Great egg layers, friendly, larger side of birds, beautiful, hilarious
    Cons - They eat ALOT!
    Rosebud my first barred rock was my heart chicken :love I loved her alot. She was by far the best egg layer we had ever had (2-3 eggs layed EVERY day)!! The kiddos loved her and you could just walk outside and she was there ready to be picked up and thought she was queen bee of the roost. She was but she was very gentle putting the other hens back into their places. If she didn't understand something, she would tilt her head as if to say are you a complete idiot.

    They are very intelligent(at least mine was). She loved loved LOVED food especially worms. People who say chickens are stupid are completely wrong. mine learned 2 tricks. Lay down and Jump and than the normal one all of our chickens learned was up( which is where i would pat something and they would jump there)

    Only one con, to make up for all those eggs, she ate a ton of feed! Probably 3 cups a day + she was free range. I don't know how she packed that much away.

    I highly suggest this breed if you looking for huge brown eggs at least one a day.
    mesalina87 likes this.
  3. bignatefishn
    4/5,
    "Solid egg layers"
    mesalina87 and IrishLad61 like this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. Clarity1210
    I loved my barred rocks. They were alert and sweet tempered, and excellent garden workers. When I was digging or weeding they'd scratch alongside me, but never messed with the plants. And whenever I'd come across a grub or beetle they'd answer my call quick as lightning, and gobble it up. They were definitely sharper of eye and more attuned to me than my other breeds. Looking forward to more in the future...
  2. judyki2004
    Mine is very loud, talkative and sweet. Very good layer and the only hen of my flock who does not mess with my garden plants :)
  3. CountryChic63
    We had a beautiful barred rock rooster, but after he attacked me viciously several times, and then he was beating up 2 of the 12 hens that drew blood, I decided to get rid of him.
    I was surprised he wasn't a typical rooster. He hogged the food (especially the treats) and he didn't seem alerted when the cats or squirrels were close. He did crow 24/7 though.
    I raised him from 1 day old and handled him daily. He seemed to expect my extra attention when I walked into the coop or fenced in yard. But then suddenly he started flogging me up at my face non-stop. I tried separating him from the hens until he calmed down, which he did. But he continued the floggings almost daily. Since we have grandchildren around that enjoy helping me, I decided he would be too dangerous. Since our fenced in yard is totally enclosed I don't plan to buy another rooster.
      IrishLad61 likes this.
    1. cherylwillard1
      I only have female rocks, but my wyandotte roo is gentle and a good "husband" to all the females. He's never aggressive, but definitely alert and protective. And he let's them eat first. So maybe you spoiled your roo and he didn't know how to be a chicken? I don't know, just speculating. Either way, you don't need a roo for eggs, that's good! :D
      cherylwillard1, Mar 30, 2019
      HAPPYCHICKENLADY17 likes this.
  4. HAPPYCHICKENLADY17
    I HAVE 4 BARRED PLYMOUTH ROCK HENS AND I LOVE THEM....ALWAYS RUSH TO SEE ME WHEN I OPEN THE GATE TO GO IN
    1. HAPPYCHICKENLADY17
      BUT one of them recently hurt her leg, broke it or just a tendon , my little charlotte is a trooper....vet put her on anti bio just in case of infection, but there have been no signs, leg not bruised or swollen and still warm to the touch, we have her in a large dog cage so she can get some rest and be free of predators since i am afraid to put her on the roost yet..she does still lay those beautiful eggs...we love her dearly and hope she makes a speedy recovery
      HAPPYCHICKENLADY17, May 5, 2019
  5. GamalZin
    Excellent strain .. Feed and strength
    Thank you
  6. Chickielady
    This is the PLYMOUTH barred rock, there are many colors of the Plymouth, including white, black, buff and silver penciled among others.
    The Plymouth Rock is an awesome breed, strong and healthy and gentle in general.
    I would love to see this article be titled "Plymouth Rock" instead of naming it a color variation of the breed.
    1. cherylwillard1
      That pic is a wyandotte rooster, not a barred rock. Maybe you posted the wrong pic without realizing? I love my rocks, they're sweet and gentle and not timid like the wyandottes.
      cherylwillard1, Mar 30, 2019
      IrishLad61 likes this.
  7. CountryChic63
    So I have 2 barred rocks in my brooder. I try to hold each chick daily, and interact with them, however most act like I'm going to kill them. I have 3 totes as brooders, chicks are separated by age, so they are 2 weeks, 3 weeks and 4 weeks. My question is, even though they don't seem to calming down at all, once they're in the coop and THEY get to chose to come up to me vs ME holding them against their wishes, will they become a little less scared of me?
    Also, I see a big difference between the chicks we ordered from Ideal vs the ones that we bought at Tractor Supply & Rural King. The ones from the stores seem traumatized and much less trusting. They also fight a lot. What's your thoughts?
      IrishLad61 likes this.
    1. cherylwillard1
      My barred rocks were skittish as chicks, too. I think it's a survival mechanism. Now that they have started laying, they're very calm and easy going, even friendly. They still resist being picked up, but once I calm them down, they will sit on my arm and "talk" to me. I ordered mine from Cackle Hatchery and am very happy; I haven't lost a single one to disease or predation.
      cherylwillard1, Sep 23, 2018
    2. HAPPYCHICKENLADY17
      MINE WERE SKITTISH AS WELL, BUT ONCE THEY STARTED LAYING THEY LOVE TO BE CUDDLED
      HAPPYCHICKENLADY17, Feb 1, 2019
    3. HAPPYCHICKENLADY17
      i have 4 barred rocks and 2 white plymouth rocks....love them all
      HAPPYCHICKENLADY17, Mar 7, 2019
  8. Hickory Tree Duke
  9. midnoight
    My favorite breed! A must-have in a flock!
  10. chickybaby1213
    are barred rocks motherly?
      IrishLad61 likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: