Pekin

Average User Rating:
4.17742/5,
  • Breed Colors/Varieties:
    As adults they are White, and Cream. As ducklings they are Yellow. Their beaks range from pink to orange colors, and their feet are orange.
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    Pekins originated in China. They were bred from a Mallard duck. In 1873, they were brought to Long Island, NY. The ancestors of the Pekin lived in a canal, which was connected by waterways to Nanjing. The Pekin is now one of the most popular commercial ducks bred for meat.
  • 5b9c45d7_ducks-pekin-72797-742938.jpeg fb4576eb_ducks-pekin-72797-497944.jpeg b6831a24_ducks-pekin-72797-241554.jpeg e7c66e85_Hello.jpeg 2f5b90e6_KINDLE_CAMERA_1375706585000.jpeg 516e4c0c_Ducks.jpeg 768246c3_2014-03-2115.29.11.jpeg 02809d3d_2014-04-2417.27.29.jpeg

  • Breed Details:
    Average weight of mature bird: Male- 8-9 lb Female- 10-12 lb Features include: Pink or orange beak White or cream colored feathers Yellow or orange feet Temperament: They are very domestic, sweet birds. They will love a good cuddle, and love to be pet. They have a great temperament. Purpose: Egg, and meat production. Eggs: They are 90-100 grams. Pekin eggs are white, or off white in color. They have 89% Fertility When they are laying you should get about an egg per day. Meat: Meat ranges from a lighter to darker brown. Pekins were chose as meat birds, because of their heavy size, and thick chest. If fed high protein diets, the meat will become thicker. Climate: If kept in housing they can handle about 5+ degrees (Only if fully feathered). They are very hardy, but if the climate drops below 5 degrees you should provide more shelter. In hotter weather they can handle about 100-120 degrees, if provided a pool, and shade. Housing: They should be given a shaded house, with weather proofing additions. Chainlink dog kennels work well in any weather, as long as they are weatherproofed. There should be a roof, and well as a raised dog house, to keep warm. Difficulty: They are very easy to raise. Provided you have housing, feed, and proper accommodations for them. Parenting: They are very poor at parenting. Their mothering skills aren't that great, and the easier way to hatch their eggs would be in an incubator. They rarely go broody. Male & Female: The best way to own these ducks is in a 1:4 male to female ratio. You can own all hens, but they will never get the company of the opposite sex. Incubation period: The eggs will incubate for 28 days. On the 28th day the ducklings will hatch. Breeding: Breeding season lasts year round for pekins. Some slack off, and only mate when they feel like it which could be every few days, but typically is lasts year round. Growth Rate: They grow very fast! By week 2 they already start to sprout tiny feathers, and by week 5 they have most of them. They will be about the size of an average duck by week 6. Noise: Females are very loud. They quack at everything. Males are very quiet, and have more a raspy quack. Foraging: They have GREAT foraging abilities! They are great free ranging ducks, and if they do free range they will require less feed. Life Expectancy: Their average life expectancy for Pekins is about 10-15 years.

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. DaisyDucky
    5/5,
    "I love my pekins!"
    Pros - Big, fluffy and sweet! Eggs are great for baking! Cuddlebugs. Funny and silly too.
    Great watchducks!
    Cons - While they are great egg layers, dont trust them to sit on a nest.
    I have a mated pair I raised from 3 days old and they are wonderful! They absolutely adore my 2 year old son and he loves them. They are very patient and Donald, the male, loves to "race" with me. Ill run and he'll run with me and come in for cuddles. They are a very powerful breed and make great watch "dogs" for any intruders that come into the yard.
    Purchase Price:
    $3.00
    Purchase Date:
    Last easter
  2. FarmerGirl101
    4/5,
    "Very Protective"
    Pros - -My male Pekin will protect my male Runner like he is a female
    -Motherly protective instinct to my Runner
    Cons - -Nothing fits ex. I bought a duck diaper and harness, people said it fit their 1-year-old Pekin duck, it was too small for my 6-month-old duck
    -They will get stuck behind everything!
    -They scratch a lot when handled
    -Must be handled at a young age
    Overall:
    4
    Purchase Price:
    2
  3. MissYa
    3/5,
    "Bullies of the yard"
    Pros - Lots of feathers to share for wild birds nests.
    Cons - Bullies, my muscovies can't lay eggs in peace.
    The hen is quite the quacker. The drake is pretty persistent in mating the muscovies, chasing them around the yard, pinning them to the ground, finishing his deed in 2 seconds and flop right off. I thought ducks mated on water. Apparently, he's got this figured out on land.
    Overall:
    3
    Purchase Price:
    0
    Purchase Date:
    2017
    enoryz and M5pekin like this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. Laurid
    How can you tell a male from a female Peking duck
  2. bernie131
    how do u get rid of mites, fleas or lice, he scratches all the time, ?
  3. bernie131
    i have a pekin drake dumped at the college pond & i love him but he does "charge" at my son, the dog & the cats, gave him a stuffed animal & he goes 2 town on it,...how long does behavior last?
      blessedx44 likes this.
  4. M5pekin
    I love my 5 Pekins. Huge ducks, daily xl egg layers, adorable addition to any garden or yard. Easy to keep, hardy, and did I mention adorable? Mud lovers, worms gobblers, destroyers of fresh water and adventurous foragers. You will never run out of fresh feathers for crafting or be without entertainment while owning Pekin Ducks! Only cons: Loud quacky ladies, the boys can be bullies and get a little ...rapey...so really keep in mind the suggested Drake to Hen ratio please- take it from me I'm learning the hard way!
      usetheforcejb, Jharris3 and Timmy777 like this.
  5. SweetPoultry
    Cute ducks, I remember I had one as a child.
  6. dianaduck
    I have a huge question my Peking duck hatched three duckling 2 weeks ago but my drake basically will,peck at them if given the chance so I have everyone separated now in an outside pen...my question to anyone they can help! Will my boy duck badically always want to be this way with the new ducks? My drake is very sweet to everyone else
  7. Abriana
    I'm getting two Pekins! I cannot wait, they are my first ducks. I have always wanted ducks. I think they are so cute. I put in a lot of time researching Pekins, asking questions, and have found them to be friendly, and a great choice if you want to love ducks. I am buying mine from Metzer Farms.
      Jharris3 and Timmy777 like this.
    1. Jharris3
      I did the same my only mistake so far was the poultry math. I got 4 thinking all were hens but ended up with 3 drakes. 2 is definitely the best # to start with
      Jharris3, Sep 20, 2017
      usetheforcejb likes this.
    2. Abriana
      I decided to get blue Swedish instead. After some research about Pekin leg problems and all I felt these were a better choice. I'm getting them in the spring.
      Abriana, Sep 21, 2017
      usetheforcejb likes this.
  8. lgergely
    Looking two purchase two Female Pekin Ducks. Vermilion,oh
    1. Abriana
      Buy them from Metzer farms, that is where I'm getting my two Pekins. They have a minimum of two birds bought at once, which i thought was great. they have information on each breed of duck and goose and goose they carry and I have heard that there is no better place to buy ducks than Metzer farms.
      Abriana, Jul 6, 2017
      Jharris3, Justyna and poultrynme like this.
  9. Herdcutter
    A very good duck for many purposes. They have a sense of humor. They are great, once a day, egg layers. They are delicious meat ducks. They are LARGE like 9-10 pounds. Easy keepers - if you feed them and make sure they have plenty of fresh water. They like a swimming pool and they love, love to go worm hunting. They make wonderful instant manure. The girls are not as friendly as the boys, but the boys will rape your girls.
      usetheforcejb, Jharris3 and M5pekin like this.
  10. wcfinklized
    First ....they are NOT. Small cute things.... They are huge cute things.....my khakis are less than half the size of my beast pekins.... When i got them as ducklings.... I didnt know they would get so big.... And they aint done growing yet..... They are very well mannered....they arent mean to the kids by anymeans....they also tend to scatter when Ya come near.... Unless of course ya have food. No complaints here.... Just be warned if new to the breed....they are big and eat alot.
      Jharris3 likes this.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by