Average User Rating:
  • Breed Purpose:
    Climate Tolerance:
    All Climates
    Egg Productivity:
    Egg Size:
    Egg Color:
    Breed Temperament:
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    White Crested : Black, Blue, Cuckoo, Choc.
    Solid : Black, Blue, White, Cuckoo
    Laced : Silver, Golden, Buff
    Other : Tolbunt, Crele
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    Little is known about the history of the Polish breed. At this time, there is no evidence that proves that they even came from Poland! The oldest record of the breed is a statue located in Vatican City that greatly resembles a Polish Chicken. The breed as a whole has a mysterious history, but because of their beauty, it is quickly becoming one of the most popular breeds in the world.
  • 77413a1f_IMG_2744.jpeg 8fbd10b7_polish-24462-484219.jpeg eba5b88f_polish-24462-285169.jpeg a766b60c_IMG_3277.jpeg bbdb5790_GuyKingofBeastsFlat.jpeg 08cea1dc_BuffyAlbertoVO5.jpeg 08b51441_DSCF5186.jpeg c57e60f7_IMG_1046.jpeg e62b5614_IMAG0184.jpeg 869510bd_IMG_2738.jpeg fffd8980_IMG_2736.jpeg f87b7335_IMG_2749.jpeg 01695192_IMG_2730.jpeg 5273167a_RSCN0799.jpeg f84c9099_BEMIDJI2012217.jpeg 69ffc2a8_DSC02445.jpeg 100080b8_DSC02593.jpeg 758feb2b_Kura.jpeg 9bcc971f_2012-10-1313.07.56.jpeg efbb1c85_IMG_2383.jpeg c5f6a576_IMG_5938.jpeg f96ac0d0_grammyscamera2012-2013159.jpeg 5f3652b1_2012-11-1913.38.35.jpeg b9247eb9_4-2-2014007.jpeg dc3870b5_spchick2.jpeg e428ea17_IMG_4119.jpeg 1cd4652d_image.jpeg a8848c03_IMG_20150602_124525452.jpeg c116fb6f_th.jpeg 6f6ba145_IMG_3371.jpeg dcc440da_IMG_3376.jpeg 07db520b_IMG_3379.jpeg b36461a7_IMG_3377.jpeg ca101cee_IMG_3380.jpeg 9002ef2b_6mFleabite.jpeg a50d58b6_LaceyandStormy.png 503b3f77_Lacey.png

  • Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Comb: V-Shaped
    Broodiness: Seldom
    Climate Tolerance: All Climates

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    Egg Size: Medium
    Egg Color: White

    Breed Temperament:

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    White Crested : Black, Blue, Cuckoo, Choc. Solid : Black, Blue, White, Cuckoo Laced : Silver, Golden, Buff Other : Tolbunt, Crele
    Breed Details:
    Along with the vibrant color array that the breed already has, Breeders are constantly making new colors, such as the Black Crested White Polish and Red Crested Red Polish. Frizzled polish are becoming more popular as well, and there are even a few breeders working on Naked Neck (NN) Polish, and NN Frizzled Polish. I have 7 colors of polish and greatly enjoy their unique personalities. They are flighty, but with a little effort on the owner’s part, they will tame, and make great pets. The chicks are a little harder to start off than some other breeds, but in the long run, it is more than worth it to choose this breed.







Recent User Reviews

  1. Sparrowsong98
    "NOT for aggressive breeds"
    Pros - Cute, friendly
    Cons - They get picked on a lot, crests can hinder their eyesight
    In September I got 4 "wyandottes" but by the second day in the brooder, I decided they were polish instead. They were very nice chicks, they were friendly and loved cuddles.
    But when it was time to kick them out into the coop, trouble started. My aggressive leghorns liked to pluck the crests and try to kill them. They even did kill one. Now they live in my basement again for the winter, and I will try to introduce them in the spring after the leghorns (who are all 6) are culled in the spring, leaving my docile friendly red stars and EE's to introduce them to.
    Purchase Price:
    Purchase Date:
    Headofpapa77 likes this.
  2. besorto
    "The best chicken ever!"
    Pros - Friendly, adorable, kids love them, not broody, talkative, great layers of small white eggs, huggable.
    Cons - they're just a little bit dumb
    I love my little golden laced polish to DEATH! Not only does she love to follow me around the yard, but she loves to talk! She's always rocking a new hairdo to impress the roos, and lays a tiny white egg everyday without fail. "Passiflora" responds to her name and loves to bring my kids things she finds cool throughout the yard. She'd be the perfect bird if she weren't such an airhead :lau I've never seen a chicken run TOWARDS a hawk :idunno
    Purchase Price:
    Better Than Rubies likes this.
  3. R1V3R20NG
    "I LOVE THEM!!!"
    Pros - Completely lovable. Will play with your feet, follow you everywhere and when younger will jump onto your leg.. or arm.... or shoulder......... or head! Falls asleep in arms when you stroke the afro.
    Cons - Cant see as well, mine has run into a pole before. Aggressive to other chickens, which can be a good or bad thing.
    These are amazing birds who love love love love people. What i mean by aggressive being a good or bad thing is because they might beat up the other hens, but that will protect them from getting their afro getting ripped out. They are fun to watch run around the yard. You don't need to worry so much about them being cold in the winter when they are younger since they become fully feathered at a very young age.
    Better Than Rubies and Pajaro like this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. Valair
    Here in Spain there are many breeds like this, apparently a lot of people here keep this fancy type chickens, I want to eventually get them. First I must learn about keeping chickens. If anyone is interested I will take photos of the breeds I come across
      Winniepooh4444 likes this.
  2. dirtydunlops
    My silver-laced Polish are the friendliest.
      Winniepooh4444 likes this.
  3. mew317
    I have a male and some hen Moptops/polish chickens. Some of them had come from Elvis, some white hens, stuff like that. Wanna know why I named my rooster Elvis? He had kind of Elvis (the person)’s hairdo. Elvis is a mean but pretty looking rooster! Right now I have a male with fluffy cheeks, legs, and a nice lil hairdo! He was in a water bucket w/ water so my Grandpa took him in and put him with lil miss Penny... She didn’t like it. We moved him into another cage. Good luck, others! Happy chicken birthdays out there! EDIT: I forgot Elvis wasn’t like others.. He has Orange and Black feathers. So does one of his chicks.
  4. Dean Wood
    I really like this breed, I only have 1 but I am planning on getting more. Her name is popcorn
  5. BDutch
    Both the crested fowl and the bearded crested fowl are 'Breed of the year' of the SZH in 2007. In this issue of Rare Pets, special attention is paid to the Dutch bearded crested fowl. Until the beginning of the last century the Dutch bearded crested fowl in the Netherlands were called Padua's. Incidentally, as in several neighboring countries. This name would tell the origin of the bearded crested fowl; from the area of Padua, Italy.

    This naming goes back to around 1600, when the well-known Aldrovandi wrote his Ornithologias, which also included images of crested fowl. He spoke of Patavinische hens. This does not prove the origin of the crested crested birds, because the story wants about 1400 one marquis De Dondi, crested and bearded fowl had taken with him to his villa near Padua after a diplomatic stay at the court in Poland.

    For Polish breeders is this evidence that beard-crested fowl are of Polish origin, it is embedded in the English names: Polands.

    But then, beard canoe are already many years in the Netherlands, as is shown on the skin-paintings of Dutch masters from the seventh century . Sufficient reason to consider this as a Dutch breed.

    Real ornamental fowl
    Dutch bearded crested fowl are real ornamental fowl, which used to be kept in noble fowl-courts. Ornamental fowl, because of their colorful and special appearance, with large round crest and full beard. It is also hardened land fowl with good quality properties. Yet they are rare. In the Netherlands, roughly ten breeders keep the large bearded crested fowl. The number of breeding animals is estimated at about 100 animals. The situation is a little better with the bantams.
  6. BDutch
  7. Headofpapa77
    Love them to Bits
      Dawnclucks22 likes this.
  8. R1V3R20NG
    I absolutely love polish. Mine (Whitney Henston) loves me. when she is angry with another hen in the nest she will jump on the food bin, but as soon as i come outside whitney will hop down and run to my feet talking. she used to jump on my head at 7-12 weeks old. Nowadays she will play with my feet! Its so cute.
  9. Tarboxhollowpoultry.com
    We have had standards and bantam polish. The can be the friendliest chickens, we had one once that would follow us everywhere in the yard, even in the house, she did not care, she liked being with people. She would hang out with me in the garden or wherever I was in the yard, they wonderful birds to have in your flock. We also had fun crossing them with other breeds and showing them in 4H as exotic birds, a silkie and polish cross produce adorable chickens.
      Dharmachick, Nashonii and DaviJones like this.
    1. Nashonii
      My gorgeous sizzle /silkie roo got killed doing a great job of protecting his girls from a hawk, just 2 days ago. I'm in search of Eather a silkie or a polish for them. Is a polish to big for the silkie girls?
      Nashonii, Nov 29, 2017
    2. kirkyanne
      My polish are the same.. follow me everywhere I go.. it's so adorable! Wish my other chickens liked me that much :)
      kirkyanne, Jan 13, 2018
      Dharmachick likes this.
    See what a diet of borscht does to you !!! Visually with a quiff like that anything that is vertical becomes lethal at high speed ...

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by