What  Chicken  Breeds  Should  I  Get?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by MissChikken, Jan 22, 2013.

1. MissChikken

MissChikken Out Of The Brooder

Jan 22, 2013
    Georgia, USA
    I've never had chickens (or any other poultry) before, and I'm new to this site. My mom told me I can get anything I want with my money, even a horse. I already have two, so I don't think I really need another one. I have two dogs, two cats, and around 20 pet rats as well. I've been saving up my allowances for a few months to buy chicks and ducklings, and I have well over $500 left after I buy around 25 or more chicks. I have been very patient, and it was hard too. I wanted to be sure I had enough money just in case something goes wrong with my pets. My mom said she'd help me out too, so that's a relief. Since I have decided to settle on chickens, what breeds would you recommend for a beginner? Pictures provided would be nice. I really like Silkies, d'Uccles, Cochins, and Sultans.

2. poultrylubber

poultrylubber Chillin' With My Peeps

First off Welcome to BYC :) second I am green with envy, it was like pulling teeth trying to get my parents to let me have chickens! Lol.
    As for breeds are you shooting for egg production or for meat or both or ornamental?

3. Salo0009

Salo0009 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2012
    Cochins![​IMG]

4. cluckcluckluke

cluckcluckluke Overrun With Chickens

Top Layers ( Pure Bred ) - White Leghorns, Minorca's, Ancona's. ( Just afew )
    Top Layers ( Cross ) - Red, white, Black, golden and Amber Sex-Links. Hy-Line Browns, ISA Browns. ( all of these birds are similar ) ( ISA Browns are basically Red Sex-Links)

Top Table ( meat ) Birds- Broilers ( which include) - Cornish Crosses.