1.5 week old Chick pecking at their rear

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sahchickenmama, Mar 22, 2017.

1. sahchickenmama

sahchickenmama New Egg

Mar 22, 2017
    Hi There,

I am totally new to chickens. I have 1.5 week old chicks who are pecking at their rear ends. They are obviously developing feathers, that I can see. But my concern is that a couple of them are pecking all of the fluff and feathers off of their rear ends, leaving their skin exposed and the feather matter dangling off of their bottoms. I see that some of them have some fecal matter building up on their bottoms as well. What should I do? Am I supposed to bathe them regularly so they don't get a build up of poop on their bottoms? Is this normal? I'm clueless!

Thank you in Advance!!

2. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

Yes, you need to remove the fecal matter.
    Do a search on 'pasty butt'.
    Pasty butt is most often caused to too high brooder temps.
    What are you feeding them?

Here's my notes on chick heat, hope something in there might help:
    They need to be pretty warm(~85-90F on the brooder floor right under the lamp and 10-20 degrees cooler at the other end of brooder) for the first day or two, especially if they have been shipped, until they get to eating, drinking and moving around well. But after that it's best to keep them as cool as possible for optimal feather growth and quicker acclimation to outside temps. A lot of chick illnesses are attributed to too warm of a brooder. I do think it's a good idea to use a thermometer on the floor of the brooder to check the temps, especially when new at brooding, later I still use it but more out of curiosity than need.

The best indicator of heat levels is to watch their behavior:
    If they are huddled/piled up right under the lamp and cheeping very loudly, they are too cold.